Positivity is Key

IMG_7747

(Found this happy little rock in a tree while I was on a hike a couple weeks ago.)

If you were to ask me right now if I’m happy, I’d say it’s complicated.

Leaving teaching is something that still fills me with doubt, but I’m working through it. I have a better idea of where I want my career path to go, and that helps. I don’t have a job yet, but I have a direction, which is better than where I was even a week ago. I’m hopeful that things will get better from here. I have no choice but being hopeful.

I’ve also been getting outside more, which always makes me feel more at peace. The hiking trails near my apartment are great, and the weather has been amazing for the most part. It’s so nice to be able to get out in nature without having to drive somewhere first. Now, if it would just warm up and stop raining, I could get out there today. It probably won’t happen, though – I’m still trying to kick a headache I’ve had since Saturday (thanks, Aunt Flo).

In addition to reading more, I also started baking more often. I know that cupcakes and brownies aren’t the best things to eat, but baking is one of the few things that can calm me when I’m having a rough day. The precision and attention that baking requires keeps my mind busy and distracted, and the end result usually tastes pretty damn good too. 🙂

Blogging is still taking a backseat to everything else at the moment, but I’m hoping that it won’t be this way for much longer. I miss sharing what’s going on in my life here. Unfortunately, lately it’s been days on end with the same thing – and no one (not even me) cares about reading the same whiny shit about sweatpants, job applications, and how much HGTV I’ve been watching lately (hint: it’s a lot).

Hopefully you’ll all still be around when I get back to writing more often, but for now, it’s time to take a break…and a nap.

2 thoughts on “Positivity is Key

  1. Yesss a positive mind produces a positive life!! This is all still SO fresh, don’t stress yourself out! Sometimes the right thing takes time. You’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

