Life on Instagram: Moving…again!

image

(Clockwise from top-left)

1. Not long after I took those lovely photos of my apartment, we packed it all up and moved again. My husband got a job closer to Seattle, and since I had just heard I wasn’t working anymore, it made no sense to stay an hour-plus drive from where D works – the commute was killing him. I was really sad to leave this apartment, since it was the first one I chose and decorated purely on my own. Almost half the time I lived there I was alone, and I’m going to miss my tiny sanctuary. I am, however, very excited to have separate bathrooms again. Sharing a bathroom any longer would have ruined our marriage. 😉

2. This was by far the fastest move we’ve ever done. From start to finish, moving the furniture only took about 3 hours (including the almost 45 minute drive), thanks to my brother in law helping with the heavy lifting. It rained the entire time, so it was also the messiest move we’ve ever done. Our mattress is still streaked with dirt from being dropped. We’ve been here almost a month now, and still adjusting to having so much more space. Everything feels half empty now.

3. One of the biggest selling points with this apartment is the location. This photo was taken from our living room. Since the apartment is built on a steep hill, it feels way more secluded than it is. Also, just beyond that hill is a pretty nice hiking trail. It’s great to finally live close within walking distance of great trails, which is the only thing keeping me sane right now!

4. It has taken almost a month, but things are finally starting to feel moved in. Not having a job has made decorating extremely difficult, since I don’t have a lot of stuff anymore and we have a LOT of blank walls. This place doesn’t feel like home at all yet, but we’re getting there in small ways.

This last move was a bittersweet one for me. Part of me really loved that last apartment – it was the first place I chose myself, and I felt reflected my style more than anywhere else I’ve lived. I didn’t have to compromise for what someone else wanted, and got to decorate it however I felt worked for me. It was a lot more feminine and modern than any other apartment we’ve lived in, and I miss that already. I’m sure I’ll work more of that into our current place, once I have the budget to do so. This is also the first apartment I’ve lived in where they say I can paint, so I might be experimenting with that soon (since tan walls are the WORST). Sure, they’re going to charge me to paint it back when we move, but I’m willing to cough that up not to have shitty tan walls anymore!

Of course, there are things I like about our new place. The location is much better, since it’s only about 20 minutes from Seattle, instead of an hour. We’re also a lot closer to the water, which I’m sure will be a huge plus in the summer months. I’m also closer to better shopping, hiking, and other fun stuff. I also have more counter space now than I’ve ever had, so cooking has been a LOT easier than in the past!

I know I haven’t shown you much of the apartment yet, but I will once things are less “in transition.” I have a lot of great ideas for this space…I just need the budget to go do them!

Leave a Reply

