Beauty: Surviving Winter

DSC00411

Seattle has been going through a bit of a heat wave this winter, and I’m loving it. However, it is still winter, and I have to modify my beauty routine to combat the cooler temperatures and the drying air that comes with having the heat on. Most of these products you’ve seen on the blog before, but they’re my old standbys when it comes to staying happy in the cold!

Skin: Cetaphil Moisturizing Lotion

DSC00408

I pretty much wear this lotion everywhere during the winter! It’s a great lotion for the face, especially at night. Every time I use it before bed, I wake up with smooth, happy skin. Even with the nicer temperatures, indoor heat often leaves my skin dry and flaky – and this stuff pretty much gets rid of it! It’s also good for people with acne prone or sensitive skin, and it makes a great after shave lotion on my legs! The best part is that it doesn’t take much lotion to cover me, so it lasts forever. I think I go through one a year, maybe?

Cleanser: Mario Badescu Acne Facial Cleanser

DSC00402

Seriously, if you’re acne prone and have sensitive skin, I highly recommend this cleanser in the winter! Even my usual Cetaphil cleanser is too drying on my skin this time of year, but this one is gentle enough not to be drying. It’s another one of those products that doesn’t take much (I can cleanse my entire face, makeup and all, with a pea-sized amount), so it lasts for a long time. I think I’ve had this bottle for a year now, and I’m almost done…but for a daily cleanser, that’s pretty good!

Hands: Neutrogena Fast Absorbing Hand Cream

DSC00404

I’m a bit of a hand lotion hoarder, to be honest. I carry one in my purse, and have two more sitting in my nightstand. While I do own a Bliss lotion, I find it stings when my hands are really dry. I reach for this one because it’s great for dry, cracked hands, and it’s a lot cheaper than the Bliss one I use! Part of my bedtime routine always includes hand lotion, and this one is a great buy for daily use.

Nails: Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream

DSC00395

I’m a cuticle biter, and this has been the only product that gets me to stop. It keeps my cuticles nice and moisturized in the winter, and it tastes horrible (haha…just being honest). Another problem I tend to have a lot in the winter is hang nails, and this seems to keep them at bay. The only thing I’ll warn you about is that this stuff is greasy, so it’s better left to wearing at bedtime.

Lips: Vaseline Lip Therapy in Rosy Lips

DSC00398

This is another product that I bought almost a year ago, and as you can tell I’ve barely put a dent in it, even after wearing it almost nightly! Aside from the fact that this is the most adorable product I own (it’s so tiny), it WORKS. I can’t stand the flavor of plain Vaseline, no matter how good it is for lips – so this one is a great alternative. I love giving these away as gifts too because no one ever thinks to buy something like this. Unlike the many Chapsticks I’ve lost over the years, I never lose track of this little guy! I apply this before bed, and during the day if I need a bit of protection from wind or chilly temperatures (especially when I’m out hiking/running). Seriously, it’s got to be the best $1 I’ve spent!

So for those of you suffering through another rough winter, try some of these to keep your skin moisturized and happy from head to toe!

2 thoughts on “Beauty: Surviving Winter

Leave a Reply

