Staying Afloat

DSC00285

Anyone who says that looking for a new job is fun is either a masochist or lying.

January was grueling. While I managed to get out of the house here and there, most of it I spent chained to my laptop, going over my resume for the umpteenth time, writing dozens of cover letters, and reading endless articles about how to optimize my job-hunting potential. Whoever said looking for a job is itself a job is totally right – though not getting a paycheck at the end of it does make things a bit less fulfilling.

Though January did suck on many levels, I’m looking forward to February being the month where things get better. Maybe it’s because companies are coming out of their new year holiday stupor, the Super Bowl is over (which means Seattle fans can get back to work, and not reading up on “deflate-gate”), or if you are into this sort of thing, Mercury will be out of retrograde on the 11th.

Whatever the reason, I’m keeping my head up mostly because I have no other option, and partly because it really does help. I need a new job because I’m spent in more ways than one, but I’m also keeping an open mind about what that new job may look like. After a pile of rejection letters in December from colleges in the area, I’m looking outside of education for the first time in my career, and that can be scary. I am hopeful that I can find a job where I can use what I know about teaching in a new way, and maybe even start writing professionally too, which has always been something I’d love to do.

So for the time being, I’m going to keep at it, and hopefully still post on the blog regularly. It has been the one fun thing to do when I need a break from getting my self-esteem beaten into the ground. I can’t guarantee the posts will always be fun and lively, since that’s not what my life is right now, but they’ll be honest as they always are.

Thank you so much for reading, following, and sharing my little corner of the internet. The sweet comments, tweets, and shares really do remind me of why I keep writing to you.

Stay strong, and let’s get through the tail end of this Mercury retrograde bullshit!

4 thoughts on “Staying Afloat

  1. Here’s my job-hunting tip! (tee hee!) You can “channel” Russell Wilson: visualize yourself with head up, alert, running downfield, eyes darting this way and that as you are ready to make the play! And stiff-arm the negativity, just like he does. Eyes on the prize, don’t listen to nay-sayers.

Leave a Reply

