Beauty Review: Target Face Masks (Part 2)

TFMR_2

Welcome to the second part of my Target face mask review!

Yesterday, we covered 3 different Que Bella masks that you can get sample sizes of at Target. Today, we’re going to cover the other brand that carries individual masks to try – Nügg.

TFMR_3

These are the 4 that I picked up to try, and after doing some research on Target’s website, they have 2 more online to choose from. The sample sizes cost $3.29 each, and if you like, you can get a pack of 5 masks for $15 (though it looks like some of them are sold out). While these are a bit more expensive than the Que Bella masks, I still think they’re worth checking out!

Mask #1: Nügg Revitalizing Face Mask with Flaxseed and Peppermint Oil

TFMR_5

The first mask I tried was this revitalizing version that claims to be gentle and non-drying. It smells almost identical to Noxema, and to be totally honest, felt like it too. The swatch below shows it’s a little thinner than Noxema, but trust me, it’s pretty damn close.

TFMR_5 Swatch

I didn’t do photos of any of these on my face, since they all looked like I had nothing on (and we got enough goofy pics of me yesterday, right?). Since this mask doesn’t dry, I set a timer for 5 minutes and went about my morning routine of picking out what to wear, which takes me about that long anyway. It was super easy to use, came off easily, and left my face feeling tingly and refreshed. My cheeks were a little red, but I think if I had left it on for 5 minutes instead of 10, it wouldn’t have been so bad.

Verdict: It was nice, but for $3.29 you can buy a whole lot more Noxema and just use that instead.

Honestly, I wasn’t impressed with this one. Sure, it worked fine – but so does Noxema, and at a much lower price!

Mask #2: Nügg Exfoliating Face Mask with Cranberry Seed Oil & Jojoba Beads

TFMR_7

I’m often skeptical about exfoliating masks, so I thought I’d try this one out. For someone whose skin is pretty sensitive, I often can’t handle exfoliating masks – they’re either too rough or the chemicals burn too much. However, after throwing on a little too much self-tanner, I wanted to see if this would help slough off some of it.

The directions on this say to rub it into the face and leave on for 5 minutes. Again, since it doesn’t dry, I set a timer and went about doing whatever it was I was doing. The mask did sting a little bit, but I think that had more to do with my face breaking out like crazy from the self-tanner than anything. Removing it was easy, and it did a great job of removing most of the self-tanner. Since the pod came with far more product than I needed for my face, I used the rest on the backs of my hands (another area that was a little orange-y from the self-tanner). I’d have to say it worked amazingly for hands!

TFMR_7 Swatch

Verdict: Great multitasking product! Worked well as a facial exfoliator, and the rest you can use to get softer hands/feet as well. Be careful if you have sensitive skin or a recent breakout, but otherwise a good fit!

Mask #3: Nügg Soothing Face Mask with Shea Butter & Chamomile Extract

TFMR_9

After using a few of the more harsh masks, I decided to try out one that focuses more on moisturizing and calming the skin. This one by far smelled the best, and I would love a lotion made with this scent! The directions for this one were similar to the others, which was to apply and leave sit for 5-10 minutes (this also doesn’t dry, so set a timer). I only needed about half the container to do my entire face and neck, so definitely share with a friend (or store in the fridge for later). The only problem I had with this mask was a sight stinging on my cheeks, but I attribute that to the chamomile (damn pollen allergies). I have a hard time drinking chamomile tea sometimes (gives me a scratchy throat), so I may not use this one again just because I think I had a slight reaction to it.

TFMR_9 Swatch

Verdict: This is a great option if you want a moisturizing mask, especially if you do it straight out of the shower! Just make sure to swatch test it if you are prone to allergies, just in case.

Mask #4: Nügg Hydrating Mask with Camellia Seed Oil & Spirulina Extract

TFMR_10

You know how I said this post has been a long time coming? Well, this last mask is one I took with me on my cross-country trip last August. I knew that after a couple days of sitting in a hot car, driving straight into the sun, I would need a quiet night of pampering. I busted out this mask on my second day of the trip, after arriving late in Deadwood, South Dakota.

This mask had a very faint smell – almost none at all. I would highly recommend this to anyone with sensitive skin, since it didn’t seem to have any of the irritants that some of the other masks had. It was thick, and went on a little greasy, but after my 5-10 minutes were up, it washed off easily and left my parched skin feeling much better. I’d totally recommend this for anyone with a sunburn, since it’s non-abrasive and non-irritating.

TFMR_10 Swatch

Verdict: Great mask if you have sensitive skin, or a nasty sunburn. Just make sure to rinse off thoroughly!

There you have it – another extensive round of beauty product reviews! This one was months in the making, and probably should have been posted 4 months ago, but hey – better late than never. 🙂

(*Note: This was NOT a sponsored post. I just shop at Target a lot.)
Leave a Reply

