Beauty Review: Target Face Masks (Part 1)

TFMR_2

One of the greatest things about drugstore beauty sections is that you can try out tons of products without breaking the bank. Another trend I’ve seen popping up in drugstores is sample-sized products, especially face masks. Target carries two brands that offer several different options, and even offer some of them as full-sized versions.

Last fall (I know, this post is way late) I decided to head out to Target to find a bunch of masks to try. My skin wasn’t in terrible shape at the time, but I was looking for something I could easily add to my routine without adding too much to my beauty budget. I’ve always loved using face masks, and thought that these single serving sizes were perfect for me to road test a bunch!

So read on if you want to learn more, and check in tomorrow for part 2!

TFMR_1

To start, we’re going to look at the Que Bella brand masks I picked up. These cost around $2 each, and the full sized versions are around $6 each, which is still fairly inexpensive for a mask. I chose these 3 based on my own skin type, but they do offer a few more options. I think you can find more options in-store than you can on their website, but that might depend on where you shop.

Mask #1: Que Bella Clarifying Cucumber Peel-off Mask

TFMR_4

The first one I tried was their Clarifying Cucumber Peel-off Mask. The smell of it was pretty mild, and it had a nice cooling sensation while it was on. I mostly chose this one because I loved doing these peel-off masks in high school. Not sure they do anything, but they’re fun nonetheless!

Below is a swatch for you, so you can see what it looks like out of the package:

TFMR_4 Swatch

The directions for this mask say to apply and leave on for 20 minutes, or until dry. For me, since I put a lot on, it took a good 30 minutes, which was fine because I left mine on while I read a book. After 30 minutes, I got on to the fun part:

TFMR_4 Face

Verdict: It was…okay, and oddly gratifying.

If you enjoy gentle masks with a gross satisfaction of peeling off dead skin, this one’s for you. I can’t say it did much for me, but it wasn’t irritating and left my skin feeling moisturized. I will warn you, though, if you’ve never done one of these before – make absolutely sure NOT to get any in your hair! It’s a pain to remove from hair once it’s dried (had to use an eyebrow brush to ease it out of my brows…oops!).

Mask #2: Que Bella Purifying Tea Tree & Witch Hazel Mud Mask

TFMR_6

Since I have acne-prone skin, I wanted to give this mask a try to see if it would dry out my late-summer breakouts. The smell of this one is a bit stronger than the peel-off mask, but nothing too crazy. The consistency of it was very thick and luxurious, and there was plenty in the pouch for you and a friend to share.

TFMR_6 Swatch

The directions on this one said to apply liberally and let sit for 15 minutes. I did this mask in the morning while getting ready for the day, and tried to stick pretty closely to the 15 minute mark, since it was a bit tingly. Removing this mask was very difficult, which I wasn’t expecting, but I survived thanks to warm water and some cotton pads soaked in toner.

Here’s me making dumb faces while waiting for it to dry:

TFMR_6 Face

Verdict: Pretty damn good for the price – and a good foil for a more expensive version!

While I found this mask a bit strong, and definitely hard to remove, I did like it. I found it to be a good foil for The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Face Mask, which normally costs almost double what a full-sized version of this would cost. In the future, I would be more careful to keep it out of my brows, and let a washcloth soaked in warm water sit over it for a minute before trying to remove. Overall, though, it left my face refreshed a super clean.

Mask #3: Que Bella Replenishing Dead Sea Mud Mask

TFMR_8

I’ve always been a fan of Ahava’s dead sea mud products, so this one appealed to me mainly because I wanted a cheap version of their products. Unfortunately, with this version I got what I paid for.

As you can see from the swatch below, this one is also quite thick and feels nice when applying to the skin. It also contained enough in the packet to easily share with a friend.

TFMR_8 Swatch

I should have known right off the bat that this might not be a good fit for me. It states on the packaging that this might not be a good product for sensitive skin, and I would have to agree. The smell of this one was quite strong, and I tried my best to keep it on for the 15 minutes the directions stated, I didn’t make it (I think I lasted maybe 5 minutes). This mask burned, and while I might partially blame that on exfoliating before doing this mask, it was still too strong for me. As a result, it also didn’t fully dry, which made removing it a nightmare.

Here is me doing my best Blue Steel while waiting for the stinging to stop:

TFMR_8 Face

Verdict: Great if you can handle harsh masks. Don’t even think of trying it if your skin is remotely sensitive.

I would have to say this one was a huge miss for me. It left my skin super clean, but it wasn’t worth how irritating it felt. The smell was also a bit too strong for me, so if your nose is also sensitive, I’d pass on this one. So I would say that if your skin can handle strong masks, and you don’t mind the smell, you might like how well this clears out your pores. If you are like me, and have somewhat sensitive skin, go with the tea tree and witch hazel mask instead.

I hope you found this helpful, and you should definitely check out these masks if you’re in the mood for a little pampering. At $2 each, they’re a cheap way to add a little luxury to your routine!

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow for my review of the Nügg brand masks!

6 thoughts on “Beauty Review: Target Face Masks (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: Que Bella Beauty of Nature Blog

  2. Thanks for your honest review! We’re really happy you enjoyed some of the products and have found the ones that suit your skin the most. 🙂
    Thanks again for featuring us on your blog.
    Que Bella
    xx

Leave a Reply

