Moving is Tough

 

(*As of today, this is what my car is going to look like when I move in a few weeks!)

This whole “moving cross-country” thing is turning out to be a lot more work than I anticipated. Between being overwhelmed with the number of apartments to look at in Seattle, the stress of not yet having a job lined up, and a husband whose anxiety is through the roof, I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed.

I keep reminding myself that moving sucks, no matter how near/far you’re moving. We’ve had easy moves that were a few hours away, and painfully stressful ones that were only a few miles away (see last July’s posts for more on that). I keep having to tell myself that once I get there, everything will be fine. I’m also starting to look forward to the trip, since I’ve never taken on anything like this, let alone by myself.

Having to say goodbye to both of my jobs last week didn’t help with the stress. It was tough to quit two jobs without knowing where or when my next one will be. It keeps me up at night, and I know that’s not a good thing. I know that I won’t get my “dream job” before I move, or even after I get there – hell, I didn’t even have my dream job last week. So while I’m doing my best to be realistic about the job thing…it still keeps me up at night.

Even with all the stress of moving, there has been one thing that is going great – getting rid of all my stuff! I don’t know why, but I get off on paring down my possessions. It’s making me a lot more mindful of what I need, and what’s just “stuff.” As I mentioned earlier, I’m giving a lot of stuff away to my sister, who is moving around the same time I am to attend grad school. She’s never lived in an apartment on her own, so she’ll end up with a lot of my kitchen stuff and furniture. The rest of my stuff is either being donated, recycled, thrown out, or sold via my Poshmark closet. Since I’ll be driving to Seattle, the plan is to only take what I can fit in my car – which isn’t going to be a lot! It has been a challenge that I’m having a lot of fun working on over the past week or two, and now that school is over, I can spend more time on!

Well, I’m off to (attempt to) head to bed for the night. Thanks for letting me vent, and if you live in the Seattle/Tacoma area, send me ideas on good neighborhoods/apartments to look at…or if you’re looking for someone to serve coffee, copyedit, or teach…holler at me!

 

 

Leave a Reply

