Heading West

IMG_2589

So I’ve got some news.

Big news.

Ready?

I’m moving to Seattle, Washington in August!

After five years of trying to make things work in Ohio, both personally and professionally, D and I have decided to try our luck in a bigger city. Of course I’m nervous about moving so far away, but we have family out there, and it’s a city that’s geared well toward both my career and his. I’ve also been pushing D for years to move somewhere far away while we’re young-ish and don’t have kids to worry about yet.

I realize that last paragraph made it sound like this is a snap decision – let me assure you, this has been almost two years in the making. D wanted to move there last year, but at the last minute changed his mind. It crushed me a bit, so I spent this year working endless hours, saving like crazy, and doing my homework. I was going whether he did or not – and I was drop dead serious about that. The past few years have been tough, and I’m looking forward to the change of scenery, if nothing else.

The plan for now is for me to move in early to mid-August, while D keeps working in Ohio for 3 months, and he’ll join me in October. I’m excited to start a new adventure in a new place…and, I’m not gonna lie, I’m excited to be doing it alone. I’ve never really lived alone (always with roommates or D), and I’m looking forward to it. It’s going to be a major challenge, but one that will definitely push me out of my comfort zone – hopefully in a good way!

For the next month, I’ll be finishing up my summer term of teaching and getting ready to move. Expect a lot of moving-related posts, and lots of sappy posts about me saying goodbye to my home state. Oh, and I’m officially putting myself on a spending hiatus – but I have one big summer beauty “research project” I’ve been working on that I’ll share when I’m done!

This summer is all about big changes…and I can’t wait to get started.

Oh, and if you live out that way – I’ll be hunting you down for advice on great restaurants, apartments, and hiking trails!

3 thoughts on “Heading West

  1. What great news! I am so jealous of you… Seattle is my #1 favorite place that I would love to live in. Siiiigh, now I’ll think of you as I watch & rewatch Grey’s Anatomy. Haha. I definitely know that feeling of never having lived alone, I moved in with Toby straight from my parent’s/sister’s house. A small part of me feels like I missed out on that, while I’m sure it could be lonely, there’s a huge sense of freedom and not having anyone to worry about that I catch myself thinking about. I also catch myself thinking of how I love being able to be selfish about my time so much that it turns me off of kids (for now). Haha. Anyways, congrats on the big move! I’m excited for you and I can’t wait to hear more about it!

      • Oh I know. When we were moving, I had a huge freak out about how we were throwing away EVERYTHING and I didn’t have the money to replace it all. Toby had to tell me he’d replace everything himself for be to stop keeping everything. And then there was flying with cats as checked baggage; I’ll never do that again, I kept worrying about them :-/ Anyways, I hope your move won’t be as stressful. You have some beautiful hiking to look forward to when you get there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

