Summer Hiking!

IMG_5445

It’s finally summer, and I couldn’t be more excited to get outside and enjoy it!

It had been a while since I last went hiking. It seems like every day I want to go out, it’s storming like crazy. So even though the forecast called for rain Monday afternoon, I headed out anyway in the hopes that I’d get a little hiking in before things got too bad.

It was almost 90 degrees outside, and the humidity was suffocating, so the hike was a fairly short one with lots of stops along the way. I felt more like I had just sat in a sauna for an hour than worked out, but it felt good to sweat it out. I’ve been a bit stressed out lately, and I know part of it has been my lack of getting outside, so I’m hoping the weather will cooperate this week so I can get outside more often (though it’s not looking likely).

IMG_5441

 

It did rain on and off while I was there, but it was a cooling break from the heat, so I welcomed it (and treaded carefully over slippery rocks and mud puddles). I’m one of those weirdos that likes hiking/running/biking in the rain, but I never remember that I do until I get out in it. I’ve been avoiding it lately because we’re dealing with serious flooding, which is dangerous to deal with when hiking, but light rain isn’t too bad as long as you stick to higher ground.

IMG_5449

 

After I got home, I took the best cold shower of my WHOLE LIFE. It was the greatest way to end a long, stressful, and hot day. Hopefully I can get in some more of these this week, especially since I hear it’s not supposed to be so hot. 🙂

How have you been enjoying the summer weather so far?

2 thoughts on “Summer Hiking!

  1. I tend to enjoy a good hike or bike ride in the rain, too, and just like you I kind of forget that fact until I go out there, and then I’m always so glad I did. Being outside always makes me happy, but the weather can add an element of mystery if the rivers fog up.

    The last photo is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

