Spring Hiking: New Challenges in Old Spaces

IMG_5334

Last Monday, I went to my usual park for a hike, and found the place very different than I last saw it. We’ve had some brutal storms and flooding in the area, and they wreaked havoc throughout the park. While it was sad to see trees broken and lying everywhere, and paths destroyed, it was clear that the park staff have worked their asses off to keep the park safe for all of us who spend so much time there…and it was greatly appreciated. You can tell they have had their work cut out for them – clearing trees, repositioning bridges, and re-laying stepping stone across the river. Nature sure does keep us all on our toes, and it was a challenge to find new ways around the park.

IMG_5287

IMG_5266

IMG_5252

The photo above was taken where I usually cross the river. The stepping stones were washed down river, and the stone walls lining each side of the river are all in a huge pile just to the left of the photo, and the pile is so large it’s re-routing the river a bit. The parks staff added stepping stones a bit further down, but it was strange to approach this and realize I can’t just hop across like I used to!

While it was a challenge, it was once I embraced. It was one of the most difficult hikes I’ve done there, and I can’t wait to see how the park staff adapts to the changes. I’m sure things will be back to normal soon, but for now, we’re all making it work.

IMG_5283

IMG_5231

Leave a Reply

