Spring Hiking: New Places

IMG_5042

A few weeks ago, I hit the pavement I usually only use for bike rides. My bicycle isn’t the easiest thing to lug with me from work to where I ride, and I think it needs a tune up anyway. Since the sun was shining, and I wasn’t in the mood for my usual hike, I took a 4-mile walk/jog on the bike trail.

IMG_5026

IMG_5040

It was a great deviation from my usual routine, and I even ran into a friendly (but suspiciously quiet) deer. The flowers were bright, and the sun was a great way to ring in the late springtime heat.

IMG_5049

IMG_5047

One attraction I often fly by on my bike is the Women’s Park. It was built by women in the community, and maintained solely with donations from individuals and businesses in town. It’s a nice, short detour on my walk, and one I’m glad I didn’t miss. On my bike, it’s a big blur that indicates to me that I’m almost back to my car – but this time, I got to walk through and enjoy the hard work.

IMG_5051

I’ve gone on a few walks this way since, and it’s a great change of pace. It even got me running a bit, since hitting the flat, safe pavement is a bit easier than running on the hiking trails.

Now, all I need is for it to stop raining this week so I can get back out there!

ps – Happy Friday the 13th!

 

Leave a Reply

