Birthday Haul: Sephora

IMG_5295

Every year I get a bit older, and part of getting older means fewer gifts from family and friends. So to compensate for that, I take myself out for a little indulgent shopping for my birthday. On my actual birthday last Tuesday, I spent the morning before work at our local outdoor shopping center. As usual, I hit up the Sephora – and for once, I didn’t spend more than I was planning to! A miracle, I know! I came home with a new lip gloss, a new summer scent, and my old standby mascara (the real reason I walked into the store). Then, as Sephora does so well, they also packed my bag with a bunch of freebies! IMG_5303

I wasn’t expecting to come home with the BeneBalm, but I’ve told myself for years that if they ever made my BeneTint in a stick form, I have to buy it! I’ve had that little tin of BeneTint for years, but I hate that to use it I have to get my hands dirty – which means I never took it with me anywhere. But now…now I can take my favorite lip gloss anywhere! It’s the same old scent and tint, but a million times easier to apply! IMG_5311

My birthday gift from Sephora was by Make Up For Ever, and it included a lip color and mascara. I haven’t tried either out yet, but they both look like they’ll be perfect for summer. IMG_5327

I also decided to cash in some points and came home with a Nars sampler pack. It’s strange to me that I’ve only bought one Nars product over the years (their lip gloss in Orgasm, which I wore at my wedding). The lip color and blush are amazing, and the eyeliner is sitting in my storage drawer for later. I’m not a huge fan of eyeshadow base, but I’ll give this one a shot and let you know if it works! The best part of this package was the blush, to be honest. I don’t know how, but I lost my favorite Ulta blush, which was a pretty good dupe for Nars Orgasm. This one is a great substitute! After shopping, I took myself out to lunch, and headed to work to teach my afternoon class. It was a great way to start off my birthday, even if I did have to work! I hope you’re all having a great week, and I’ll be back to share some more birthday shopping very soon!

2 thoughts on “Birthday Haul: Sephora

  1. Awwwesome! Happy birthday! 🙂 You should post swatches or photos of the items on you, I’m curious to see how they look when applied. I’m making it a point of stopping by Sephora for my bday present but I’m still on fence about treating myself to Naked3. I start school soon and I’m sure that money would be better spent on tuition 😛 But that’s not fun… Haha.

    • Thanks for the idea! I’ll have to work on swatches soon! I’m not a big eyeshadow wearer, so I’ve been sticking with the Naked Basics palette…but the 3rd one looks right up my alley!

      I’m doing the same thing about spending money lately, too. We’re gearing up for a big move soon, and it’s gonna be a pricey one!

Leave a Reply

