Old Hauls: Target and Ulta

IMG_4038One of the many, many things I didn’t do during my month “off” from blogging was post about this beauty shopping extravaganza. I even took photos of everything I bought, but once I got that done I completely forgot about it.

Not to be a bad blogger, I’m going to not only show you what I came home with, but since I waited almost a month to tell you about it, I’m also going to tell you how all the products worked out for me. See? A haul AND a beauty product review in one! My laziness might have some advantages after all…

Anyway, we begin with my trip to Ulta:IMG_4006Neutrogena Fast Absorbing Hand Cream:
I used to have a large version of the Bliss hand lotion next to my bed, but it ran out. Since I use it every night, I thought I’d try a cheaper brand that was recommended to me by one of my coworkers. So far, it works great. It’s great for nights when I want to put on my hand lotion and still be able to read a book/magazine/my iPhone. Highly recommend this one for people with chronically dry hands, since burning through a $20 bottle in little over a month can add up fast!

Ulta Premium Round Cotton Pads:
I buy these pretty much every time I go to Ulta. They’re great for many things, and they don’t fall apart on me while I’m using toner (a big pet peeve of mine when it comes to cheapo cotton balls).

Maybelline Color Show Nail Lacquer in Born With It:
If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, you probably already know I’m in love with this brand of lacquer because it dries so fast. This was no exception, and it’s a great pinkish-nude shade for spring. My only problem with it was that it didn’t go on evenly, and even after 3 coats it was still a bit uneven. But, I’ve had that problem with a lot of nude polishes before, so I might try my OPI Ridge Filler base coat next time.

Bliss High Intensity Hand Cream:
I know, I just got done saying I wasn’t going to splurge on expensive hand lotion, but I did need a small one for my purse, so I got a travel-size. I don’t burn through hand lotion as quickly when I’m on the go, so I think the $8 I spent on this little guy will still go a long way. It took me well over a year to get through the last bottle I had, so I think it’s worth it.

Mario Badescu Acne Facial Cleanser:
This is a new product I’m trying, since I keep finding the Cetaphil cleanser to be a bit too drying in the winter. After one month of using this one, I have to say I’m a Mario Badescu convert! It’s a gentle cleanser that does a pretty good job of removing makeup (with the help of a washcloth), and doesn’t irritate my skin, especially on dry, cold nights! I even had a pretty nasty breakout last week, and this seems to be keeping things as calm as they can be, which is another plus!

Much like most people, when I go to Target, I’m usually on the hunt for one or two things – and come home with a small army of stuff I didn’t really need, per se. I don’t know exactly how they do it, but they get me every time!IMG_4002Herbal Essences Dry Shampoo in Color Me Happy:
Like many women my age, I was a total sucker for Herbal Essences shampoo in high school – especially the pink one. It was the first shampoo I remembered using as a teenager that not only did the job of keeping my oily hair in check, but its smell is something that transports me back to those late 90s days. When I found out they were making a dry shampoo with a similar scent, I was instantly curious. I’d say it works as well as any other dry shampoo, but the appeal for me is that it’s the best smelling I’ve found so far. So if you’re into flowery dry shampoos, this is worth a shot. If you’re all about a cheap one that works, regardless of the smell, I’d still stick with Batiste.

Essie Nail Lacquer in Plumberry:
I’ve never been much of a fan of Essie’s polishes in the past – they’re typically too thin of a formula for me, and even after 3 coats, they seem to still be uneven. In spite of that, I thought I’d give them a chance since I found this perfect magenta shade for spring. I’m wearing it right now, actually. I’ve found that sticking to the darker colors work best for Essie, and this one is actually pretty thick compared to some of the others I’ve tried.

Organix Argan Oil of Morocco Dry Body Oil:
Okay, so this is something I bought purely because I loved the smell of it. I also thought it might help with the super dry skin I’ve been dealing with lately. Unfortunately, after using this once, I broke out on my legs (which is not normal for me at all). I might give this product another shot in the summer when my skin isn’t as sensitive, but for now it’s being shelved. So if you have sensitive skin, I’d avoid this stuff. If you don’t, then it might be worth checking out.

Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream:
I have a terrible habit of biting my cuticles, and I hear this stuff helps keep them looking nice. That, and it tastes horrible, which is a great deterrent for me from biting at my cuticles. So far, it works pretty well. It’s very greasy, so it’s really only for nighttime, but I do like how it keeps my nails and hands feeling smooth in the morning!

Almay Clear Complexion Concealer in Light/Ivory:
I’ve been using this stuff since college, I think. It works, so I keep buying it. Not much else to say about that. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve also been on a magazine kick lately. It’s probably because I don’t have a lot of free time, so reading a book is about impossible right now. I need short and sweet, so I’ve been reading these in my free time (note: I finished reading these shortly after I bought them…but I have a few sitting at home I need to dive into soon!)IMG_4016There you go – another successful shopping trip! If you want any more information on the products above, leave me a comment and I’ll be glad to help you out!

2 thoughts on “Old Hauls: Target and Ulta

  1. Have you tried Eucerin’s Intensive Therapy hand cream? It’s my favorite hand cream, I couldn’t stand Neutrogena’s Norwegian formula, it was too sticky and hard to spread/rub in. Essie polish is also one of my favs, although they do have a huge selection of sheer & jelly polishes, the crรจmes (which are usually darker like you said) are nice ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s a majority of what I have. I can’t believe Herbal Esences came out with a dry shampoo in the rose scent! I’ve been waiting for them to use the rose scent in anything other than the shampoo & conditioner! Woohoo!!! Sucks about the body oil though, that is so strange to break out on legs… I’m a big fan of dry oils despite your odd reaction to this one, H2O+ a nice one ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

