A Month Off

Hey Readers!

Remember me?

Yeah, probably not, huh?

Well, after an accidental month off, I’m back on the blog. I would love to say I spent the last month doing some soul-searching, relaxing, meditating, traveling, and whatever else normal bloggers do when they take breaks. I didn’t do any of that. I spent most of the past month up to my eyeballs with work. In fact, here’s a picture of what every day of the last month has looked like: IMG_4046While I’m loving the higher paychecks these past couple of months, teaching 7 classes is slowly killing my will to do anything other than work and sleep. I’ve also been taking on more responsibility at work by attending more meetings, volunteering for a teacher council thing, and trying really hard not to drink too much coffee (which, from the photo above, you can clearly see I’m failing at miserably). While I’m grateful to be working so much, it does make it hard to take pictures and blog.

Thankfully, last week and this week are my “spring breaks.” I say this with quotes because, lucky me, I don’t get a spring break this year. The two schools I work at are on different schedules – one of them was off last week, and the other is off this week. It does give me a little more time this week to blog and catch up on the 1,000 other blogs I want to read (and a few magazines I bought in January I need to catch up on). Oh, and it doesn’t feel like spring here…at…all.

I will admit, though, that I did manage to get out for one hike…ONE…over the past month. I squeaked this hike in right after one big snowstorm, where we had a random 50-degree day, and another snowstorm hit the next day. It was slick and muddy, and I was sore for days after, but it was totally worth it. I didn’t fall in the mud once, which I am very proud of. I’m going to be so much better off when I can get more of this in my life: IMG_4070IMG_4076IMG_4078The next day, I woke up to this: IMG_4100I wish I could say I took the photo all blurry like that for effect, but the reality is I was so pissed that I had to scrape snow and ice off my car again (yes, there’s a layer of ice on top of that dusting of snow), that I took it as fast as I could and scrambled to get to work on time.

Valentine’s Day also came and went. Last year, I surprised my husband with a nice, romantic dinner. This year, I was planning to do the same…but the weather had other plans. Right when I was in the middle of cleaning the house, and cooking some heart-shaped falafel (using the tried and true recipe over at A Beautiful Mess), D. decided to come home early so he wouldn’t get stuck in the snowstorm that hit that afternoon. He still enjoyed the dinner, and appreciated that I busted my ass to clean up the house – but it was a bit of a bummer to have my cover blown by stupid snow.

On the upside, I did manage to get out early enough that morning to buy myself my traditional Valentine’s Day flowers. My husband isn’t big on giving me flowers (such a romantic), so every year I go out and get some for myself. These bad boys were from Trader Joe’s, and they lasted almost 2 weeks! IMG_4057The other reason I haven’t been in the mood to blog is that I’m pretty sure I’ve worn the same outfit every day for the past two months. I’ve pretty much lived in some combination of the following: IMG_4093I think I speak for most women in the Midwest when I say I’m so TIRED of jeans, sweaters, and boots! Right now, I’m dying to wear anything else. It has been a rough winter, and waking up to below-zero temperatures each morning pretty much requires me to wear something warm and shoes I won’t slip and fall in. I did a little spring shopping this weekend, and I’m excited to share what I’ll be wearing once it stops snowing and sleeting on a regular basis!

One more, totally random note before I let you go back to your far more amazing lives:

To combat the super-dry and cold weather we’ve been having, I found the most adorable lip stuff. Maybe you’ve seen it? IMG_4110Seriously. It’s Vaseline, so you know it works like gangbusters. It also smells like roses, which is even better. The best part, though? Look at how tiny it is! It’s freaking adorable! I put this on every night before I go to bed, and when I get up in the morning. Every time I see that tiny, tiny jar, I smile a little. It’s the little things (literally) that get me through.

Well, I should probably get going. I’m writing this on Sunday night, and I’m about to get kicked out of the living room so D. can watch The Walking Dead. I’m so bummed Downton Abbey is over. I miss it already.

So…what have you all been up to while I was gone?

2 thoughts on “A Month Off

  1. I wonder how the Rose Vaseline compares to Smith’s Rose Salve. It takes me forever to get through the rose salve so I probably won’t be picking up the Vaseline anytime soon. Glad to hear you’re still alive & well (and haven’t quit blogging!) It finally started to warm up in TX (last year was already hot by now), it’s supposed to be ~75* today. Unfortunately, my boyfriend left for a week long work trip to NJ where there’s supposed to be a snowstorm. I’m excited for the next step in your career, it’s interesting to hear about. I work in an asset valuation company while working on my undergrad degree and to move up, I’d have to get an advanced degree. It’s not likely that I’ll be here THAT long, especially with classes being in so much demand. Sigh, had to skip this quarter because there wasn’t any more room 😦

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’m glad to see not everyone forgot about me!

      I’ve never tried the Smith’s salve, but I can say the Vaseline seems like it’s going to go quickly. It was worth giving it a shot, but I might try that salve when I’m done with this, since it sounds like it might be a better investment!

      Hang in there with school – you’ll get it done eventually! I’m excited to see where the next few months take me as well!

      Hope your boyfriend is staying warm in NJ – it’s going to be 60 here today, but we’re also gearing up for some snow this week as well. I’m so tired of the cold!

      Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

