Life Lately: Snowpocalypse Edition

Happy Friday!

I have officially made it through one month of classes, and haven’t thrown in the towel yet. Teaching seven classes has been rough, and now that grading is slowly starting to pile up, it is taking up so much of my time. In spite of that, though, I have carved out some time to myself here and there. Now that I’m in a better work routine, I hope to get back to blogging – it just might be a bit more intermittent than it used to be. My job comes first right now, and it’s a very demanding one!IMG_3890I started reading this book last week, and while I’m already 100 pages in, I’m not sure I’m going to finish it. I’ll give it a few more chapters, but if I have to read the name Ernest Hemingway too many more times, I’m done. It’s driving me nuts that the main character, Hemingway’s first wife, keeps referring to him by his full name. No one calls their spouse that ALL the time. I sure don’t anyway. So we’ll see – for now, I’m on the fence about the book.

Which means I want to ask you guys – have you read anything good lately? I need some recommendations in case I bail on this book!IMG_3897The pasta salad for lunch is still going strong, though this week I didn’t end up eating too much of it. With a rough start to the week, and a delay for school yesterday, I have a bit left over still. I’m still trying to figure out what I’ll do for next week – maybe something with beans? I don’t know. IMG_3854When I bought the baking supplies, I also picked up this book at Marshalls for half the retail price! I’m excited to try a few recipes out of here, hopefully for next week. I might even replace the pasta salad with something from here. I’ve been slacking hardcore with cooking this past month (January seemed to be a crappy month all-around here), so I want to push myself to get back into the kitchen and enjoy cooking again. IMG_3904Last Friday, before all the stupid storms rolled in, I made it out for a hike! I’ll share some more photos next week, but I figured I’d leave you with one today. It was great to get back out after almost 2 months off (according to my workout app), and I hope to get back out more often when the weather gets a little nicer! We’ve been dealing with piles of snow and dangerously cold temperatures for so long, I feel like it’s been forever since I got outside! Spring really can’t get here soon enough for me. My bicycle is sitting in a corner collecting dust right now. I miss going out for rides so much!

Well, I’m off to do some shopping, some laundry, and start tackling that giant pile of papers to grade. It’s my own fault, right? Silly me, for asking students in a writing class to write a ton! What was I thinking? 😉

Have a great weekend, and leave a comment if you have a good book recommendation!

4 thoughts on “Life Lately: Snowpocalypse Edition

  1. I read, A Paris Wife, and liked it. I did put it down from time to time, which usually means it didn’t keep my attention. I’m reading, Sharp Objects, right now and would recommend it.

  2. Read anything by Jojo Moyes – she is amazing! Or Rainbow Rowell – love everything she has written! I have read Sharp Objects as well and it is very good, is everything else Gillian Flynn has written.

Leave a Reply

