Reading Nook Makeover

IMG_3726One of the biggest challenges of living in this apartment is all the open space, and having no idea what to do with it.

I know, it could be a lot worse. For those of you who have been reading for a bit, you’ll know that just because we have more space than we could fill, the apartment’s not in the best condition. But I digress…I have the best problem when it comes to floor space. Don’t feel too bad for me.

When we moved into the apartment, I originally wanted to make the larger room our “office” and make the smaller room the bedroom. It has worked out well for us in the past, but not this time.

In our last apartment, D. complained for a long time about not having a space to himself. We used to share an office, so it’s not like I had a place all to myself either, but he obviously felt much more strongly about it. So in an attempt to be accommodating, I let him have the smaller room to himself, took the kitchen nook as my office space, and kept the larger room as our bedroom. This left half of the bedroom empty – and I chose to take advantage of it to do something I haven’t been able to do before.

I gave myself a reading nook!

The room itself is set up a bit awkwardly. I decided to take advantage of the huge windows and create my reading nook in between them. So here’s the before:IMG_3710

And here’s the after!IMG_3732This was a very cheap makeover, thanks to my brother-in-law. He had this chair in his house, but had nowhere to put it, so I’m borrowing it for now. The table was from Target, and I got it for $40 on clearance. The lamp is the Forsa from Ikea, and it’s a great light for only $30! The blanket is from Uniqlo, and the candle holder is super old, so who knows where it came from…probably Target, like, 10 years ago.Β The photos are some of my favorites from hiking last year. I got the frames at Ikea too – I’m pretty sure I didn’t spend more than $20 on the whole display, which is always a good thing! The only thing this space is missing is a footstool, but I’m taking my time and trying to find one that I will like, and is the proper height.

While it’s a small change, and one that I did on a pretty tight budget, I’m glad to have it. Now that I’m the one without a quiet space to myself, this reading nook has proved to be a great place to work, read, blog, and just chill out. I do miss having a home office space where I can go and work in peace, but for now, this will definitely do!

4 thoughts on “Reading Nook Makeover

  1. Just a suggestion for all your cool hiking photos – you can have an engineering print done at Kinko’s for under $10.00. (It’s says not for photos, but ignore them.) You’ll end up with giant, black and white prints that are easy to mount to foam core. Very dramatic and space filling; I’ve done this trick at bunch of my friend’s McMansions with half-empty rooms.

  2. I love this!! Your reading nook is so adorable πŸ™‚ This is something I’ve always wanted, too. I’ve always imagined a little window seat with lots of cushions, and I have to say this comes pretty close πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy your little spot to yourself!! xo

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’ve wanted a window seat with cushions since I was a kid, but have never lived in a house with one…maybe someday! I do enjoy my little nook quite a bit. It’s a great place to relax and separate myself from work a bit, which is something I have a hard time doing. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

