Life Lately

IMG_3834Hello Everyone!

Just wanted to let you know I survived my first week back to teaching. I am teaching seven classes this semester at two different colleges (to put into perspective, I usually only teach four). It has been extremely hectic this week, between preparing for a class I didn’t know I was teaching until the last minute, juggling two schools each day, and meeting roughly 175 new faces. It has been crazy, but in a good way. I haven’t taught at one of the schools in over a year, so it’s good to be back. I know it means I’ll have less time for the blog, but I’m hoping that once I get things in order with classes, I’ll get a bit more free time during my time off.

Thankfully, my schedule isn’t too crazy. No more 12-hour long days like I had last semester. I do get a lunch break every day, and the two schools I work at are practically across the street from one another, which makes bouncing back and for throughout the day pretty easy. IMG_3829I decided to go back to packing a lunch this semester, since I want to eat healthier and I won’t have time to go home at all. This week, I made a huge batch of pasta salad, and it lasted until lunch Thursday. It was just as good on Thursday as it was on Monday! I’m definitely going to work on expanding my pasta salad repertoire this semester. I forgot how much I love them!IMG_3695Last week, in between lesson planning and working on a few posts for this week (including yesterday’s post with Warby Parker) I spent some time catching up on a few magazines I bought to read during the holidays, and never got around to reading. It was a nice break from being parked in front of a computer all day. I even worked on decorating my little reading nook area – which I will share with you guys next week.imageI thought it would be appropriate to end with a photo I took from inside my car when I got home Thursday afternoon. I ended my first week back with a sigh of relief, then promptly walked outside and got smacked with a late afternoon snowstorm!

People in the college parking lot were in a complete buzz of excitement – and it was great to see students helping each other out by cleaning off a classmate’s car, helping older student out to their cars, and even a little bit of a snowball fight. Traveling home was a bit slower than normal, and I wasn’t too excited about how slick the roads were, but I made it home in one piece.

Well, I’m off to get some work done so that I can (hopefully) enjoy a little bit of my weekend.

I hope you are all having a great Friday, and I will be back here with more exciting posts next week!

Leave a Reply

