Belated Blogiversary

IMG_3443November 20 was officially my first “blogiversary.”

That’s right – this little blog is already a year old!

I didn’t do anything special to celebrate, mostly because this blog is still a secret to my family and friends…and partly because it happened to fall on a work day. I did, however, grab a chocolate lava cake the day before at my local high-end grocery store. It was amazing, and a great treat after a year of hard work.

It has been a growing year for my secret little corner of the internet. I started out with zero readers, and now I have around 40 views each day. I’ve written a lot about my own life, and found comfort in reading about the lives of so many others. I went from being a long-time lurker on blogs to regularly reading, commenting, and participating in the community. I juggled all of this while holding down a full-time teaching job, spending many hours outside or in the gym, and still managing to keep this whole thing a pretty well-kept secret from my closest family and friends – including D. (That’s right – as far as I know he still has no clue!)

I have learned a lot about blogging this year, and have grown a bit as a writer and person thanks to all the amazing readers! Things started off pretty small, but this blog has grown into a full-fledged side project. I have improved on taking photographs, editing them, and posting content that my readers enjoy. I also think I’m finding my own writing voice again – something I thought was important for me to have as a writing teacher, blogger, and overall human being.

However, while I’ve learned so much this past year, there are a lot of things I still need to work on. I have a few goals for the next year, and hope that I can continue to make this a place where people love to come and read each day.

My hope is that in the next year, I can start to engage more with the blogging community, get a better handle on managing social networking, and hopefully continue to share good recipes, beauty product reviews, and life updates with more new readers. It’s a lot, but I think this is the year to start tackling the blog as more than just a hobby. I didn’t originally think I’d make it this far, so the fact that I did motivates me to keep going and keep improving.

Yes, I also hope in the coming year to “go public” with the blog to my family and friends. I considered this year my “rough draft” year, where I figured out my writing voice, what I wanted the blog to be, and a bit more of the technical stuff. I didn’t feel comfortable sharing a rough draft with the people I see every day because, honestly, they’re all very good at giving me their two cents. While I appreciate it, I also knew I didn’t want the blog to be something I catered to them, or censored for them. It’s a project I did solely for myself, and one that I knew would require a serious set of balls to open up to the people I’m closest to. My hope is that in the next year, I will feel good enough about what I’m doing to share it with everyone I know and love. Until then, there is still plenty of work to do.

For the few of you who have been with me from the beginning – thank you for including me in your amazing circle. It has been great getting to know all of you through blogging, and finding a way to relate to each and every one of you. You’re amazing!

For those of you who have found me recently – thank you for continuing to come back. Tell you friends, and tell them to tell their friends. The more, the merrier!

Well, I’m off to do some reading up on blog design, and figuring out how to make this space more visually appealing. (Gotta have goals, right?!)

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for reading my blog. Really. I went from feeling like an outsider looking in, to a part of the community. It’s because of the amazing readers and commenters that I keep doing this – and because it’s fun, of course. I can only hope that this lasts for a very long time, and we can spend this year getting to know each other that much more!

 

Leave a Reply

