Fall Haul #4: Ulta

(*Note: I know that I usually do these on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, but since tomorrow is my blogiversary, and I have something special cooked up for that, I’ll leave you with this a day early. Enjoy!)

I thought for Fall Haul #4 I would switch things up and do a beauty haul from a few weeks ago. While there is an Ulta literally down the street, I decided to take advantage of their website and do some online shopping. They had some decent deals, and I ended up with a few bonus trial products I wanted to try out. So to save myself the time of finding parking at the mall (which is impossible this time of year), trudging through crowds of teenage girls and their tired, faded mothers, I thought I’d give their website a chance.

I’ve used Ulta online before, especially when I didn’t live near one, and so far I’ve never had a bad experience with them. The product selection is great, and I’ve never had anything show up at my door broken or damaged. Things generally get here pretty quickly, too, so I never spring for the quicker shipping. So without further ado…

Fall Haul #4: Ulta

IMG_3339IMG_3356

IMG_3347Ulta Brand Antibacterial Gel, $3 each

They actually had these on sale for a buy one, get one free, so I thought, “Why not pick up two?” Both scents are pretty strong, but they are travel size and perfect for tossing in your purse. I take mine with me to school, especially now that we’re eyeballs-deep into flu season. Many of my students work in the medical field, and are often going straight from work to school, so who knows what else they’re bringing with them. Add on to the the number of my students who are parents, and students who aren’t parents who come to school sick anyway…and it makes for a pretty gross day. These are very handy when I don’t have time to wash my hands after using the dirty communal office keyboards, shaking hands, and handling student papers.

IMG_3349Bliss High Intensity Hand Cream (travel size), $9

I know this seems like a lot to pay for a tiny bottle of hand cream, but let me tell you it’s worth every penny! I’ve used this for the past few years, and go through an entire bottle every winter. It’s thick, but not greasy, and while the smell is a bit strong and takes some getting used to, it’s great for those of us who have very dry, cracked hands in the winter from all the cold, dry weather. I have a full size version of this I keep next to my bed, so I remember to put it on at night before bed. This one is perfect to throw in your purse and have around whenever you need it (especially if you wash your hands a lot like I do). Trust me, if you splurge on one thing each winter, a good hand cream is a great idea.

IMG_3352Organix Hydrating Moroccan Argan Oil Lotion, $6.99

Body lotions are another thing I tear through in the cooler months. This one I bought without trying it out first, which is totally unlike me. However, I love their Argan Oil hair treatment (especially the smell!) so I went for it. It’s a very nice lotion, and the smell is nice but not too strong. I didn’t notice at first, but it has a little bit of shimmer to it, which is fine. I’m not usually a big fan of glitter in my body lotion, but it’s subtle. I don’t know if I would buy this one again, but I’m going to finish out using the bottle anyway. It’s not at thick or moisturizing as some of the other lotions I usually use from Booths or Nivea, but it was a nice change from my usual unscented lotions.

IMG_3357Murad Clarifying Body Spray, $37

One thing not too many people know about me is that I suffer from bacne. Gross, but hey, I’m not here to lie about how glamorous my life is. It was really bad during my teenage years, and left my back covered in scars from years of scratching at it. While it’s much better now that I’m older, it still comes back a little bit every winter. This is the only product I’ve found, both prescription and non-prescription, that seems to keep it in check. I think the breakouts have more to do with the cooler weather, heavier clothing, and stress, and this spray does a great job at keeping things from getting too crazy. It’s one of the more expensive products that I buy on a regular basis, but again…worth every penny if it means I’m not dealing with painful and itchy bumps on my back!

IMG_3362Maybelline Color Show Nail Lacquer in “Dressed to Kill” and “Impeccable Greys”, $3.99 each

This was another product that was one sale as a buy one, get one free (or 50% off, I can’t remember), so I went with two great shades for fall. Dressed to Kill is a dark burgundy, and Impeccable Greys is a dark grey/muddy purple. As you may know from previous posts, I’m a huge fan of this line. They dry amazingly fast, and with a solid basecoat and topcoat, they seem to last just as long as more expensive polishes, for me anyway. My only disappointment was that the Impeccable Greys was more purple-y than I was hoping for. I already have enough muddy purple polishes…but I guess now I have one more.

IMG_3410St. Ives Naturally Clear Green Tea Scrub, $5.99 (now on sale for $5.09!)

This is something I’ve used for the past few years, especially in the winter months. It’s not quite as abrasive as their regular face scrubs, and leaves my skin feeling fresh and clean afterwards. Redness is something I deal with a lot in the winter, so it’s good at calming that down without irritating my skin. It’s nothing fancy, but something I purchase and use the entire bottle of each year.

Since I purchased everything online, I also got a few freebies to try out!IMG_3374Skincare Freebie: Murad Instant Radience Eye Cream

This was something I got as an extra for buying the Murad body spray. I’ve used it a few times, and it seems nice and light. It also doesn’t get in my eyes like some other eye creams tend to do while I’m sleeping. Not sure it’s doing anything, but the pot has a decent amount in it, so I’ll keep using it until it runs out and decide from there if I want to buy a full sized one.

Skincare Freebie: Bliss Triple Oxygen “ex-GLOW-sion!” Vitamin-infused Moisture Cream

This sample was a one-time only thing, and if I remember correctly it was a bit irritating on my skin. I’m pretty sensitive when it comes to moisturizers, so that’s not necessarily a bad thing – it’s just not a product my skin liked.

IMG_3371Fragrance Freebie: Lacoste Essential Eau de Toilette Pour Homme

If you don’t know French, “pour homme” means “for men.” I’ve tried the female version of this scent and really liked it. The men’s version I think would be perfect for my husband – it’s simple, clean, and not too strong. Now, I’ll never convince him to stray from his tried and true cologne (a knockoff CkOne), but a girl can dream, can’t she?

Fragrance Freebie: Ralph Lauren The Big Pony Collection 2

This one is very, very sweet and fruity. I didn’t like it, but I don’t really like sweet scents like that. If you like any of the Juicy Couture scents, you might really like this one, since it reminds me of those.

Fragrance Freebie: Flower by Kenzo

It’s not a good sign that I don’t remember what this one smelled like. I want to say it reminded me of a perfume my grandmother would wear, but honestly I can’t remember. If I don’t remember it, I probably didn’t care for it. They can’t all be winners, I suppose!

Overall, it was a fairly successful online shopping trip! I got a few staples that I buy every fall, and a few new items I’m pretty happy with. I’m sure there are some things I still need to get, but for now I’m all set for the cold, dreary winter ahead!

Leave a Reply

