Uninspired

IMG_1931

I haven’t written much on the blog lately, at least not as much as I’d like.

I feel ready now to tell you why.

Part of it was being busy with work. I’m still not happy with what I’m doing, and feel like every day is a struggle to get through. It probably doesn’t help that my work days are 12 hours long. I often come home so physically and mentally tired that the last thing I want to do is sit down and edit photos or write.

Part of it was my not being able to get outside as much as I’d like to – especially on my own terms. I miss being so close to bike trails and hiking trails. Sure, we have some nearby, but as I’m finding most of them go through a pretty rough part of town, especially for someone who bikes alone. I don’t feel safe biking with so much traffic, either. I never realized that I’d miss it so much, since I was never a big exercise nut to begin with – but I really do.

I did, however, make it out for a ride yesterday – and it was pure heaven. Just what I needed. Must make sure to do more of that this week.

Part of it was the hectic nature of moving into our new place. I still don’t think I have a good handle on how to decorate or organize our apartment. It’s the largest apartment we’ve ever lived in, but has by far the smallest kitchen and most awkward setup. I’m also starting to regret letting my husband have the second bedroom to himself. Having an office in an open area of our house is proving to be more of a distraction than anything. Not having a space of my own is also proving to be a problem. I can’t get away from D., and I’m starting to realize now how important that is for me.

Part of it was my exhaustion. D. has asked me to get up with him on my days “off” (aka work from home days) and go running. First off, I’m not a runner – so for me this whole thing is demoralizing because I spend most of the time walking while he jogs ahead of me. Secondly, these days always follow my 12-hour marathon work days. I may not be going out with him this week, in an attempt to get some more sleep.

I do have some posts in the works for this week…just maybe not every day. Try to have patience with me, and hopefully things will be back on track very soon. 🙂

Oh, and I started off today by spilling my coffee all over my desk.

Happy Monday!

2 thoughts on “Uninspired

Leave a Reply

