Fall Shopping Wish List

Fall is a strange season here in Ohio. I’ve probably said that before, but it’s true.

Half of the time, the weather is unseasonably warm – which means we’re still rocking our summer duds to some extent well into September (and even October).

The other half of the time, it’s severely cold – which means we’re dipping into our winter wardrobes months sooner than others may do.

This year, it seems we’re going to be dealing with an unseasonably warm fall. While our friends to the north are starting to feel the biting chill of fall weather, it has stayed very hot here. In fact, I almost fainted on Saturday at my nephew’s football game – it was sunny and pushing 90 degrees, and after almost 4 hours in the sun with no shade nearby, it felt much more like July than September.

Just because it’s not even remotely fall weather here yet, a girl can still dream about what she might wear when the weather finally cools off. So without further ado, here are a few things I’ll be on the lookout for this fall!

Fancy Alter Ego’s Fall Shopping Wish List

1. A comfy flannel shirt

Flannel Check Long Sleeve Shirt, Uniqlo, $29.90

One thing I regret not purchasing last year was a nice, soft flannel shirt. I think they work great alone, but they also look amazing peeking out from underneath a variety of solid sweaters. Uniqlo sells a wide variety of colors and patterns, and for around $30 each, I could easily choose a few options without breaking the bank.

2. Matte Finish Topcoat

Essie Matte About You Matte Finisher, Ulta, $10

One trend I keep seeing pop up during NY Fashion Week is matte finish manicures. Prabal Gurung, in particular, featured manicures that were matte with shiny tips. That sounds like something easy I can try, but my dumb ass tossed my Essie Matte About You topcoat a while back, thinking I’d never use it. So I’ll be on the hunt for this again, hopefully before it gets snatched up at my local Ulta.

3. Leopard Print Loafers

Nine West Sossi Loafer, Zappos, $79

These shoes hit two of my must-haves this year for shoes: loafers and animal print. I want to branch out a bit more with shoes, especially since a lot of my work outfits are pretty bland. For them to function at work, they must be comfortable – 12 hour days in heels sucks, so fun flats would be a life saver! These would also look great with a pair of black skinny jeans and an oversized tan sweater for running errands in the chilly fall months.

4. A new iPhone case

Gold Giraffe iPhone Case, by Gal Ashkenazi for Society6, $35

I’ve been on the hunt for a new case for my phone, since the orange and white one I currently have is a bit too “summer” for me. The color combo of this one is great, and who doesn’t love a giraffe?

5. Dark wash skinny jeans

The Flirt Skinny Jeans in Rinse, Old Navy, $29.50

I tear through skinny jeans like crazy, so for fall I’d like to update to a darker wash. These I’ve tried on before, and I know they’re comfortable and nice enough for work. Of course, I’d love to put a nicer quality brand up here, but I’ve been rocking Old Navy jeans for many years, and they just seem to fit me better than most. I’m open to other brands, of course…but trying on jeans isn’t exactly my idea of a good time, so I tend to stick with what I like.

Now, all I have to do is wait for pay day!

What are you looking forward to getting for fall? Anything you saw at Fashion Week this year catch your eye?

Leave a Reply

