My Life Lately: Food Edition

On the food front lately, I’ve been trying to get back into my usual routine. Over the past month, I’ve been eating a lot more meat, and a lot more comfort food (which for me means ice cream mostly).

So for the past couple weeks, I’ve been focusing on making meals that are easy, especially on the two nights every week that my husband and I don’t eat together. I’m also going to be on my own for dinner this semester, with evening classes running until 7:30pm twice each week. So it’s good that I get back into the habit of eating healthier.IMG_2611Ricotta and spinach tortellini, homemade garlic bread, and some Magners apple ale. I know, alcohol doesn’t really fall under the “behaving oneself” category, but I keep it to one each night if I do have one. Though I do have a huge collection of wine left still from our vacation…haha…but I think I can restrain from drinking too much of it!IMG_2621Homemade falafel with sour cream and cucumber dressing, tomato, and provolone. Yes, I made falafel again. My husband loves them, and I find that they make for great leftovers the next day for lunch. I’m also hoping to find recipes like this that I can pack for lunches this semester, since I have to do that for the first time in years. IMG_2694Scrambled egg with basil and dill, provolone, lettuce, and mayo. This is a go-to recipe that I make when I have extra herbs to use up, and extra pita pockets. I only use the pitas for falafel, so I need to find ways to use up the rest. D. seemed pretty interested in what I was doing, so I might try to make this for him someday for dinner, or a weekend lunch. Minty snack!Having a Trader Joe’s just down the street is proving to be both a good and bad thing. They carry a lot of healthier foods that I really like (the tortellini from earlier is from there), but they also carry these minty little balls of happiness. I could easily eat the whole box in one sitting, but I don’t – they’re my little treat at the end of the day.

Aside from all this, I’ve also been hooked on drinking orange juice lately. Not sure why, but I can’t seem to get enough of it. So I try to make sure to only have it for breakfast, and only a small glass. I also drink a TON of water, especially on really hot days.

Hopefully over the next month or so, I can get things back on track. Classes start on Monday, and I’m anticipating that next week will be a very busy one, but once I get used to my new schedule, it shouldn’t be too bad.

But for now, I’m off to see about a new textbook (yep, still don’t have it and we start school in 3 days). Hope you’re all having a great day!

2 thoughts on “My Life Lately: Food Edition

Leave a Reply

