Life Lately

Happy Monday everyone!

This is my last week of summer “break,” which really means getting ready for classes to start back up again. I’m still waiting on the school I work for to send me updated textbooks so I can redo my entire syllabus for one class (way to wait until the week before, guys). I should be getting it tomorrow, so in all honesty, today’s my last day “off” for the next few months. Yay.

Anyway, here are a few snippets of what’s been going on around here lately: IMG_2608Woke up one morning to a broken office chair. Don’t feel too bad for the chair – I “inherited” it from my brother in law and reupholstered it myself. It’s an old, terribly uncomfortable chair and I won’t miss it when it’s gone. Unfortunately, my job doesn’t actually pay me until the end of September, so I’m currently on a spending freeze until then. So no new chair for a while. This does, however, give me ample time to shop around for a new one. And you all know how much I love to shop!IMG_2612Turned in the keys to our old apartment on Thursday…after going back for one last check to make sure everything was in tip-top shape. All I really had to do was vacuum the first floor again (dead pill bugs were everywhere), which wasn’t so bad. It’s the first place I’ve been sad to leave, so it was a bittersweet day for me. I’m going to miss being so close to work that I can eat lunch at home, hiking, bike trails, and a decent TJMaxx. I still work up there, so I guess I won’t be leaving that area forever, but not living there anymore will be a big adjustment.

I also spent most of last week getting things around the house organized. My husband has a tendency to just throw things into closets to get them out of the way, and before long, things pile up. Every time I would go into this closet for some shoes, I’d let out an angry sigh because I’d inevitably slip on or kick something. It also wasn’t a great utilization of the space to have everything on the floor. Sure, we have TONS of storage in our new place, but that doesn’t mean slacking off on using it to its full potential.

Hall Closet: BeforeIMG_2613

Hall Closet: AfterIMG_2626

Hall Closet: The Way I Like ItIMG_2627

Ah, much better.

I used some Command hooks to hang the mop, swiffer, and broom off the floor, and might add more hooks in the future for some smaller stuff. Most of the workout equipment fits in there nicely on the right, and now I have enough floor room to get things out or put them back. Before, pulling out the exercise equipment involved taking a bunch of stuff out around it…now, it just comes out with no fight whatsoever. I’m hoping I can keep it this way.

D. often has other plans, though. But we’ll get to that when I figure out how to deal with the downstairs bathroom he has decided to take over (even though he has a full bathroom all to himself already). I swear, he has more of a goo-hoarding problem than any man I’ve ever met. 🙂

I’m off to work on some projects for the apartment, and can’t wait to share what I’m working on this week.

Hope you all have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

