Random Tidbits for Friday

One more week down!

This week has been all kinds of hectic. Between packing, teaching, and working out, I’ve been on the go a lot this week. I spent most of yesterday setting up the utilities and transferring stuff over, and have only managed to get done what absolutely HAD to be done for today, when we FINALLY sign our lease.

I also haven’t been able to make it out to hike/ride at all the rest of this week, mostly because my days start out like this: IMG_2140

And by the time I get home from work, they’re like this:IMG_2141That’s Ohio weather for you. Just because it’s one way when you wake up doesn’t mean it’ll stay that way! We are lucky enough not to have lost power from this storm because a lot of people did. Yep…we’re the state who gets massive power outages in the middle of the summer. Slightly less inconvenient than having it happen in the winter…but still annoying nonetheless.

Some other things I’ve been enjoying this week:

1. MFAMB is having a SALE!

“Under a Parasol” by Jenny Andrews Anderson

Many of you may know her as the woman behind the hilarious and brutally honest blog, My Favorite and My Best (or MFAMB). She’s also a very talented artist, and when she decided to have a major summer sale, I was excited. Sure, I still can’t afford most of it, but she’s offering prints now, which are far more in my budget range…if I can decide on one or two to bring home!

2. How About Orange’s “Tutorial: make a DIY art installation”

Apparently, someone over at the blog How About Orange is in a similar situation as me lately. I enjoyed the extremely dry humor about creating installation art with my moving boxes and other packing-related stuff. Maybe I should consider it less of a chore, and more of an opportunity to show off my creative side! Either way, I’m glad someone out there is moving right along with me!

3. Cooking healthier

Now that the poison ivy is pretty much gone, and I’m back to my usual self, I decided to finally step on the scale to see how much damage I had done with not exercising…and taking a steroid known for causing weight gain. I was 5lbs. up from where I was before all of this happened, which isn’t good, but according to my doctor could have been a lot worse.

So I’m back on the wagon, both exercise and diet-wise. I have been enjoying my green smoothies in the mornings, and trying really hard to curb my insane urges to eat lots of sugar and drink tons of alcohol (something I abstained from during the 2 weeks I was on meds). Luckily, it’s summer around here, and lots of fresh produce is around to keep me healthy and in check. I’m already down 2lbs. this week, so I think everything will be fine once I get back into my regular routine. 🙂 IMG_2144

IMG_2156 IMG_2152Well, I hope you have all had a great week, and I’m off to get ready for work. We sign our lease this afternoon, and we can start moving our stuff in on Monday! I can’t wait to finally start getting things moving!

Have a great weekend. 🙂

ps – If you were using Google Reader to read my blog, don’t forget to hop on over to Bloglovin’ and follow me there:

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

