Picking My Battle July: Smooth Move

 

For the next month, my life is pretty much going to be dominated by moving into our new place. So, for the month of July, I figured it would be easier to tackle that as my challenge.

June’s challenge to push myself went great for the first couple weeks, but once the poison ivy kicked my ass (yep…turns out I was wrong about it being poison oak), I was basically sidelined the rest of the month. I ended up at another doctor on Saturday after things started to go downhill again, and he was nice enough to give me medication that might actually clear up the awful looking rash, and keep me from scratching it so damn much. I’m also taking some insane antihistamines  which I’ve been told will make me super drowsy/drunk. I took my first one before bed last night and slept like the dead. It was amazing.

Anyway…enough about my grossness…on to July!

Picking My Battle July: Smooth Move

We’re moving into our new apartment July 15…sort of. We have a 2-week overlap from when we get the keys to our new place (July 15) and when we have to be out of our current place (August 1). So we’re technically moving our stuff to the new place on July 20. I’m going to try to take advantage of the extra time to get the new place ready, and making sure the old one is in tip-top shape when we turn in the keys. I have a few goals in mind for this move that will incorporate some other goals I wanted to reach this month:

1. Pare down my stuff…a lot.

This is something I do every time we move, but this time around I’m really looking to the future. We’re planning to move to the Seattle area in a year, and making a cross-country move means being able to take only what we really need. Do I need the bookshelf that I bought at Wal-Mart when I was 15? Nope. Do I need my wedding photos? Yep.

So part of what I’ll be doing this month is challenging myself to get rid of the things I’ve been hanging on to for years that I don’t really need or like. This will involve as few boxes as possible, and will hopefully lead to an easier, smoother transition from one place to the next, and from one city to the next in the future. I am excited about the idea of learning to live with less, and can’t wait to see how much “stuff” I can shed from my life and my home. It’s definitely long overdue.

2. Make this move as quick and stress-free as possible.

I grew up moving around a lot, so this is probably going to be the easiest part of the challenge. I’m kind of the master of making moving an easy, quick process.

This will be my 17th move in my lifetime…so let’s just say I’ve got this process down.

My husband is often amazed at how much prep work goes into moving, even just a short distance like we are now. After helping his brother move last weekend, he saw just how different things can be (aka stressful and annoying) if you haven’t planned ahead of time. So I’ll be sharing with you some of my tricks for making moving day easy and as fast as possible.

3. Shift our decor into something more…grown up.

This is going to be one of the hardest parts of this challenge, mostly because I have to keep an eye on the future move across the country. I don’t know if it’s turning 30 this year, or that I’m spending more time at home for work, but I’m getting tired of our surroundings. I’m ready to live in a house that looks like full-grown adults live here, and not broke ass college kids.

To start, I’ve already put my foot down with my husband about not accepting any more hand-me-down furniture, partly because of our ugly f***ing green couch we’re now stuck with, and partly because he can’t say no and we end up with more furniture in our house than we really need.

I also have to look to the future, and make sure that I’m not buying anything that we can’t move across the country in the next year, or we can’t part with at the end of the year. So this part of the challenge will involve trying to rid myself of as much furniture as I can that we don’t really need, and learning to live with (and work around) what he do have. I see a lot of painting in my future, and finding more creative ways to make our house seem more like a home. I also have to keep an eye on the budget, because part of this next year is going to be all about saving up to move somewhere very, very far away…and that shit costs money!

So while this challenge is going to be easy for me because I don’t have a choice but to move in a couple weeks, I’m looking forward to sharing with you how I do it. I’m excited to get into our new place and start getting to work, but for now, we plan….we do lots and lots of planning. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Picking My Battle July: Smooth Move

    • Thanks! I’m working on that with our next apartment. The walls in the new place are huge, so they’re perfect for some larger, more grown-up pieces. Our current place is set up strangely, with room for small pieces but that’s about it…so I’m looking forward to the large, blank canvas!

Leave a Reply

