Saving Face (Beauty Products to Reduce Scarring)

IMG_1907

Happy Friday everyone!

Now that things are getting back to normal around here, I’m also back on a new skincare regimen. The poison oak is almost totally cleared up, but it left my cheeks a little splotchy, and the skin on my face as a whole pretty screwed up. I avoided using anything potentially irritating on my skin this week (no retinol creams, harsh cleansers, or makeup when I could help it), so it’s in need of a little TLC.

After a trip to Target, I came home some products that will hopefully get my skin back on track.

1. Boots Expert Anti-Blemish Serum, $8

I have been using Boots products on and off for a few years now, but used to just stick to their masks and face lotions. Since being on a steriod can cause acne flare-ups, I decided to go ahead and try a serum that’s meant to clear up acne without leaving my already oily face greasy.

It contains willow bark extract, which is something I’ve never used before to treat acne (most stuff I use has salicylic acid). As I have gotten older, I found that my skin becomes almost addicted to salicylic acid, and that it tends to do better without it, especially in the summer months.

I tried this serum last night, and I have to say I might be a serum convert now. I like how it goes on smoothly, doesn’t leave my face greasy, and I woke up noticeably less itchy than usual. I know it’s only been one day, but so far…I’m all about it.

2. Mederma SPF 30 Scar Cream, $15

This is a product I’ve used for the past 3 years as an everyday face lotion and sunscreen. I was turned on to using this by Lorraine Stanick and her YouTube channel, TheCurrentCustom. She was the first one to introduce me to the idea of getting away from using acne treatments meant for teenagers, and trying to deal with the scarring and hyperpigmentation that years of horrible acne left on my face. She and I both struggled with similar issues in the past, and her older videos on her skincare routines are well worth watching. Her reviews are honest, candid, and sprinkled with her own brand of dry humor.

Between this and Cetaphil cleansers, which don’t contain harsh chemicals or perfumes, this product completely changed my skin for the better. Not only did it force me to get into the habit of using sunscreen every day, it also helped clear up a lot of the scarring on my face. I used it quite regularly in the months before my wedding, and my skin was the best it has ever been.

There are a couple of caveats with using this product, though. The biggest complaint people often have is the smell. It’s main ingredient (besides the sunscreen) is onion bulb extract, so the cream smells like…well…onions. While pungent at first, you get used to it. The other issue is that it’s pretty expensive. I managed to get it on sale, but a 0.7oz tube of this stuff usually runs around $20. I’ve found that if I only use it once each morning, it seems to last around a month. I know that for a lot of people, $20 each month for a good face lotion or sunscreen isn’t bad, but it was hard for me at first to pony up the money for that. However, this stuff has worked so well on my skin in the past that I know it’s worth the money for me. I’m hoping that I can keep the scarring on my cheeks and neck to a minimum, and I know this product will do that for me.

3. Boots No. 7 Beautiful Skin Cleansing Water, $8.50

This is a totally new product I came home with, and I will completely admit that I was suckered in by how amazing it smells! I’m also getting low on my Caudalie Cleansing Water, and wanted to try a different one.

The Caudalie version is great for me in the winter, since it leaves my skin moisturized and clean, but in the summer it seems to make me break out because my skin is already oily enough. I do, however, love using it as an eye makeup remover – if you haven’t tried cleansing waters for that, give it a shot. It works really well, and isn’t irritating on my eyes like most makeup removers are.

Anyway, back to this new stuff. It’s about half the price, smells amazing, and definitely does the job. I still think I should use a traditional soap cleanser whenever I wear makeup, since this didn’t seem to get all of it off that easily, but using it after I cleanse with soap left my skin super clean and feeling great. The smell is divine and relaxing, and I’m looking forward to getting to use this product more often, especially in the mornings when my skin doesn’t need a harsh cleanser.

So there you go – a new regime, and hopefully one that will get my skin back into great shape.

Next week is going to be a very busy one, so stay tuned for some big announcements, tons of posts, and hopefully a lot less whining and Wendy’s. 🙂

Leave a Reply

