PMB June: Pushing Myself Outside

IMG_1742Part of my challenge for this month is to push myself harder physically. I actually started this on May 31, so while it technically wasn’t June yet…I decided to push myself to get started early.

IMG_1743

IMG_1745I’ve never made it this far out on a bike ride before. Once I got home and mapped it, I realized that I did an 11 mile bike ride (I normally only do around 8 miles). It felt pretty good, even if I did rush a bit to get home before the thunderstorms hit later that afternoon!

IMG_1756This shit right up here…for those of you who don’t know what’s next to my foot, it’s cottonwood. Every year when this stuff blooms, I get insanely sick. I’m not sure if I’m actually allergic to it, or if it just happens to bloom during a high-pollen time of the spring. Either way, I know that once I see it floating around in the air, it’s gonna be a rough week or two.

I’ve done okay this week in spite of my allergies, but I know it’s something I have to contend with whenever I work out outdoors. The rest of this week I’ve stayed inside, mostly because it’s hard to get out after work, but I still got a few workouts in. I’m looking forward to today and tomorrow, and hopefully I can get back out there. Gas prices did just jump over $4/gallon here…so it might be a week of indoor workouts instead!

IMG_1769Yes, even after pushing myself harder than I usually do, I have to say it felt good. It felt good to sweat my brains out, and see how far I could push myself. Sure, I was a little sore the next day, but it wasn’t that bad.

I’ll also show you tomorrow what new workout I’ve been trying out this week. D. got me a very, very nice birthday present that’s exercise-related, and I used my birthday money from my parents to update my workout wardrobe a bit, but we’ll get to that tomorrow. I’m really excited to show you all!

Have a great Thursday everyone!

4 thoughts on “PMB June: Pushing Myself Outside

  1. I find it so hard to go back to running, yoga or any exercise. So, good for you for pushing yourself to it. This somehow inspires me so I might try do some stretching before bed time 😉

Leave a Reply

