Picking My Battle: June

I figured that it would be a good idea to wait until after my birthday to dive into June’s “Picking My Battle” challenge.

May’s challenge was a pretty easy one, mostly to get my blog in order. I managed to update a lot around here, set up more social networking (Twitter, Facebook, Bloglovin), and try my best to keep posting good material even while on vacation. While it wasn’t a very difficult challenge, it wasn’t always easy to juggle all of that with final exams, vacation, and some unexpected surprises at work. I’m still working at updating some of the social networking stuff, and figuring out how to design my blog better, but I figure it’s a work in progress, and I’m glad I at least got it started.

For June, I thought it would be a better idea to stick with a theme, rather than a specific challenge. I’m still insanely busy with work, so sticking with a specific challenge (like I did in April) might be hard to do on a consistent basis.

So…*drumroll*

Picking My Battle: June

I am going to push myself harder in all areas of life.

I know it sounds like I’m already busy, and in some ways I am.

However, there are a lot of things I want to accomplish over the next month, and the only way for me to do that is to push myself a little harder to get it all done. I think the whole “turning 30” thing got me down a bit last month. I kept looking at where I am right now in life personally, professionally, and physically compared to where I was at 20 years old…and felt like I was lagging way behind. It was a major downer to keep thinking about how I’m not making enough money, not in a proper career track, weigh too much, don’t have any friends, blah, blah, blah. Major party-pooper, I know.

I’m sure that I can’t be the only one who does that to myself, but I think it’s time for me to make it my mission to go after all of those things I want.

I want a career that will afford me the time and money to travel more and stress less about paying my bills. This might mean changing careers, changing jobs, and even changing cities. I’ve been waiting on my husband’s job search for almost six months now, and nothing came of it…so it’s my turn now to see what I can accomplish.

I want to get my ass in gear when it comes to exercise and diet; while I’ve made great strides over the past year to be healthier, it has led to zero progress – that needs to change. I want to try some new workouts, and some more drastic dietary changes to see what works. I’ll share with you how things go, for sure!

I want to live somewhere that my husband and I can both be happy with – which might mean moving away…far away. We’ve been looking into the Seattle area, but since it seems to be my turn to job search, I’m also looking at San Francisco, Portland, and other West Coast cities. I need to get the f*** out of Ohio already. It’s time.

I also want to learn to appreciate what I have, and stop obsessing over what I don’t. The blogging world sometimes makes that difficult, since I know that I’ll never keep up with blogs that have been around for years, and that everyone on the internet seems to have way cooler lives than I do. It’s “keeping up with the Jones'” on a much larger scale – and it’s impossible.

So for June, my plan is to keep trucking along, but at a faster pace. I’m hoping that only teaching one class will give me the free time to get all this stuff rolling.

Of course, I started off by posting this about 6 hours late…but don’t count me out just yet. I was out birthday shopping. 😉

Leave a Reply

