May Ulta Shopping Haul!

IMG_1538

I must be growing up because the thought of calling this an “Ulta Haul” made me feel like that creepy old guy at the bar who tries to grind up on 18 year old college girls…aka way too old to be saying that.

So I guess instead, today we’ll call it my “Ulta Shopping Trip,” which is a much more accurate description of what went down anyway. I didn’t buy enough stuff to constitute “hauling” it to the car – which I’m assuming is what teenage girls with their parent’s credit card do. It also isn’t that exciting, since it was more a trip for things I needed, and less about things I wanted.

(*Note: If you happen to be one of said teenage girls, enjoy the shit out of it for me. My parents never even let me see their credit card. I mean, I’m probably more responsible with money because of it…but whatever…you go buy the shit out of some OPI!)

Anyway…here’s what I came home with:

IMG_1545

IMG_1556Premium Square Cotton Pads (200 count), Ulta, $3.49

I know, I probably could have gotten these a LOT cheaper at the grocery store. In fact, I’m kinda kicking myself that I didn’t, but whatever. It was on the list of things I needed, and they were there.

IMG_1548The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Face Mask, Ulta, $15.00

I just ran out of my Origins Clear Improvement charcoal mask, so I thought I’d try something new. I’ve been dealing with breakouts a bit since April, so it seemed a tea tree oil infused mask would be a great idea. I tried it out once this weekend, and it left my face feeling fresh and clean. My favorite part is that it doesn’t take much to get it off my face (the charcoal mask took a bit of scrubbing), so it didn’t irritate my skin as much as some other masks do. I can’t really vouch for how “clear” my skin is after one use, but if this stuff does work, I might be checking out more from their line!

IMG_1567

IMG_1549
St. Ives Blemish Control Green Tea Gel Cleanser, Ulta, $5.99

In keeping with the tea theme, I also decided to switch up my face cleanser. Cetaphil seems to work great for me in the winter, but with all the added sweating and oil on my face, I usually go to this cleanser in the summer. I’ve used it for quite a few years now, and it’s a great, gentle cleanser that keeps my face clear and oil free (for the most part).

IMG_1552Maybelline Color Show Nail Lacquer in #380 / Porcelain Party, Ulta, $3.99

Since I can’t seem to leave Ulta without coming home with something frivolous, I thought I’d give their Porcelain Party nail lacquer a try. At $3.99, it was worth taking a bit of a risk to find a decent white nail polish. I’ve written before about this line of polishes, and my mixed reaction to them.

Well, this time…I got what I paid for. I’m wearing it right now, and I have to say I’m not a big fan. It went on pretty much how I feared it would: like I’m wearing White-Out. It took 3 coats for it to look even remotely even, and even then, it has so many bubbles and chips in it after one day that I’m probably not going to leave it on for very long. It’s the right shade of bright white I was looking for…just not the right consistency. I know that getting white nail polish right is pretty difficult (hence why I didn’t have the nerve to buy any until now), but I was kind of hoping this one would be a little more like their other colors, consistency wise, and it wasn’t.

So…if anyone has any good suggestions for a decent white nail polish, let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “May Ulta Shopping Haul!

  1. I use the Tea tree face mask and it is amazing! my skin feels so light and clean afterwards, i love it! Been wondering about the cleanser, would love to know what you think of it in a couple of weeks.

    • I’ve used the cleanser for a few years now (mostly in the summer months), and I love it. It’s mild enough for my sensitive skin, but does a good job of cleaning up makeup and oil. I highly recommend trying it out, especially since it costs about half of what I usually spend on Boscia (which I probably won’t do again…too expensive for not much better effect).

Leave a Reply

