PMB Recipe: Black Bean Burritos

IMG_1181
When the weather gets warmer, I tend to gravitate toward eating lots of tacos and burritos. I think it’s because the food is simple, easy to prepare, and doesn’t require using the oven. I’m also a huge sucker for guacamole. Seriously, I could eat that stuff every day.

I know that guacamole is a personal preference thing, and you can add whatever you want to it. I like to leave mine pretty simple, with just avocado, red onion, garlic, lime juice, and plenty of salt. I’m sure someone out there will give me the whole “But you didn’t put jalapeño/tomato/cilantro/whatever in it??” No, I didn’t. And I’m cool with that.

IMG_1186

IMG_1188

IMG_1190

IMG_1194

IMG_1198

IMG_1203
I made the guacamole right after I got home in the afternoon, and let it sit in the fridge for a couple hours before getting the rest of the burrito stuff together. I don’t have a lot of pics, since heating up refried black beans isn’t that exciting. You can see below that I added some rice, beans, cheese, salsa, and tons of the guacamole. One of these bad boys was plenty of food to keep me full through a very long final exam period last night!

IMG_1219

IMG_1223
I also decided to treat myself a little by getting myself a Mandarin Orange Jarritos soda. These things are amazing, super cheap, and are perfect on a hot spring afternoon. I rarely drink soda, but when I do, I like to get something I know I’ll like. 🙂

IMG_1229
So that’s actually the last of my April “Picking My Battle” challenges. Starting next week, I’ll be back to making dinner for myself and my husband every day, so it’s back to the usual dinnertime routine for me. I’m excited to see how many of these recipes make it into the regular rotation…I have a feeling the falafel will be making a comeback really soon!

Leave a Reply

