Foods I’ve Loved Lately

Things are getting a little hectic around here, with the “plagues” and final exam week coming up next week. I’ll be back later today or tomorrow with my Picking My Battle recipe, if I can manage to actually make it.

After a really long day at work, I came home last night and just cooked whatever was easiest, and while I know that means I didn’t keep up with the plan for the week, I’m going to make up for it today.

For now, I’d like to share a few things I have been loving this week:

IMG_1077
This is my go-to snack this week when I need something in between classes. I know Wheat Thins are a love/hate thing with people, but I totally love them with some cheese. Any kind of cheese, pretty much. It’s great when I don’t have a lot of time, or just need something small. It’s hard to only eat a few, but I manage to control myself most of the time. 🙂

IMG_1073
D. has been on a strange kick lately of trying new foods, and this week at the grocery store he decided that he wanted to try some papaya. I’ve had it before and really like it, and I know with his undying love of any kind of melon, this would be right in his wheel-house. I probably let it ripen a little bit longer than I should have (for my tastes, anyway) because these were very strong! We haven’t made it through both of them yet, but I’m guessing they’ll go well in a smoothie…or stirred up in a glass of this:

IMG_1066
I’m a wine fan, and when I find one I like, I kind of go crazy for it. This one I found at our local Kroger, marked down from $10 to $4 a bottle. I figured that for $4, I could try one out and if I don’t like it, I won’t be too upset.

Turns out I love this stuff! It’s fruity, a little bit sweet (but not too much), and something I can drink with pretty much any meal. And for $4 per bottle, I really couldn’t help but come back home this week with a few more:

IMG_1067
(There is one in the fridge too, which makes 4 bottles for the price of what I usually pay for 1.)

I think I’m stocked up for a while!

Well, I hope everyone is enjoying their Thursday so far! I’m off to the hardware store for some supplies…and I’ll share with you later why. Turns out we’re not done dealing with stupid shit in our apartment. Or my husband just has a tendency to break stuff. 😉

Leave a Reply

