Favorite Nail Polishes for Spring

IMG_0999

I have been on a bit of a nail polish kick lately. Usually, I don’t wear it that often because I’m too busy to sit still and wait for it to dry. With how wrecked my nails get during the winter (thanks to the cold, dry air), I got into the habit of using polish, if only to hide that my nails keep tearing on the sides (ouch!).

Now that spring is here, and I am ready to pack away my brooding maroon, black, and muddy grey polishes for a bit, I thought I’d share some colors I have been wearing more lately, and look forward to wearing more as the weather gets warmer, and my wardrobe a little bit brighter.

So here you go – my favorite polish colors for spring!

IMG_0980

OPI Nail Lacquer in Bubble Bath, Ulta, $9

This is my go-to neutral polish. I wear it all year round, and it matches my skin tone well whether I’m pale or tanned. As you can tell from the bottle above, I burn through these pretty quickly. It’s one of the few polishes I’ve had to replace because I ran out of it (usually my polishes go bad or dry out well before that). It’s a great shade to wear one layer, or a few for a more opaque finish.

IMG_0983

Maybelline Color Show Nail Polish in Pink Shock, Ulta, $4

I did a review of this polish not too long ago, and I have worn it a few times since then. Turns out neon pink is a color I like wearing more than I ever thought I would. The fact that it dries quickly is  another major reason why I wear it so much. To combat the matte finish (which I don’t like), I just make sure to use a shiny top coat, and it’s fine. For a cheap, drugstore brand polish, it also holds up pretty well – I can usually go about a week before it starts chipping. So if you’re in the mood to try out the neon trend this spring/summer, definitely check this stuff out!

IMG_0986

Essie Nail Polish in Turquoise and Caicos, Ulta, $8

I originally bought this because it kept popping up in almost every blog and magazine I read over the past few months. I know…I shouldn’t buy things based on the fact that everyone else likes them…but this once, I caved in. It seems to be their most popular shade lately, and I can see why – it’s the perfect mint green shade…not too green, not too blue. I know, I sound ridiculous when I say that, but honestly, I couldn’t find one I liked better. I don’t even like Essie polishes for the most part (they seem too watered down for me), but this one is great. So for once, I hopped on a bandwagon and it worked out.

IMG_0990

Sephora by OPI Nail Colour in Cover Me in Petals, Sephora, $9.50

This is the polish that ends up on my toes pretty much all summer long. While a classic red is great for toes, I like to switch it up to something more in the coral family for summer. This one is a pretty coral pink/orange that seems to match up with my skin tone well. There are about a zillion other coral polishes out there – in fact, I accidentally bought another one last summer that’s almost identical to this one (OPI’s Special Request)…so I guess double check to make sure you don’t already have one before going shopping. Turns out we all probably have one hiding away somewhere whether we know it or not!

IMG_0993

Ulta Salon Formula Nail Lacquer in High Roller, Ulta, $6

When I was a teenager, I took a lot more risks with my nail polish. In the summers, I clearly remember being obsessed with this yellowish polish that had gold and opal glitter in it. I looked it up online, and it was Hard Candy’s nail polish in Pixie. They were the ones that came with a jelly ring. It matched my bikini and my tan perfectly. In fact, the moment my tan began to fade, I stopped wearing it, saving it for the next summer.

Now, I find that I can’t get away with such crazy polish combos…but I never forgot my love of gold polish. This Ulta version is perfect for me – just the right amount to opaqueness and glitter, not too flashy, but enough that people notice it. I’ve spent many years on the hunt for a great gold polish, and this one is it for me. I wore it a few times this winter, but really felt like it would make a better option in the summer, when the sun is out, and my wardrobe needs a little sparkle without all the jewelry (which I don’t wear much in the summer).

So there you have it – my polish collection for spring! Of course, I have a few more polishes in my arsenal than that:

IMG_0976

Not a very large collection, to be honest, but I did go through and get rid of a lot of polishes last fall that I didn’t wear anymore, didn’t like, or just got old/dry. I’m hoping to keep my collection to a minimum, but many of you know how that goes. I hear lavender is a hot color this year, and I don’t have one…so suggestions will be very well appreciated. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Favorite Nail Polishes for Spring

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your site? My blog site is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would certainly
    benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Thank you!

  2. Hi my friend! I want to say that this post is awesome,
    great written and come with approximately all significant infos.
    I’d like to peer more posts like this .

  3. Wow, fantastic blog format! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for? you make running a blog glance easy. The full glance of your site is magnificent, as neatly as the content material!

Leave a Reply

