Taking the Day Off

IMG_0935

Instead of spending all day grading papers, preparing for next week, and generally stressing myself out, I took the day “off.”

I know, I don’t normally “go to work” on a Thursday, but I usually spend those days catching up on work I can’t get done on my 10 hour long teaching days. While I wish that I got paid for all the work I do on my off days, I don’t…so sometimes, I throw caution to the wind and leave the grading for another day. It has also been an extremely stressful week for reasons I won’t get into…so a day off was well-needed.

I started off the day checking the weather, and saw that while it was supposed to be 80 degrees today, it was also supposed to rain by noon. So I decided to get my shit in gear and head out for an early morning bike ride before the storms kicked in.

(*Of course, it’s now 5pm and it still hasn’t rained, so I guess I either read the weather app on my phone wrong, or Mother Nature is going easy on me today. Either way, I’ll take it.)

IMG_0937

IMG_0941

After my ride, I realized that I had forgotten to grab a coffee this morning, so I stopped by The Underdog Cafe in Yellow Springs, OH to grab a cold-pressed coffee. It was great, and definitely well-needed after a long morning on the bike trails!

IMG_0944

I spent the rest of the morning working on blogging stuff, then decided to tackle cleaning the bathroom. I feel like I’m doing this all the time…haha…but this week, I tried a new cleaner on the tub and shower that I saw online. I’m sure you all have too, since I keep seeing it pop up on Pinterest and other blogs.

It’s the “Tub and Shower Soap Scum Blaster” concoction that I first saw on the blog One Good Thing by Jillee. This is the same blog where I got the idea for cleaning up my baking pans. It’s super easy to put together – all you need is some blue Dawn dishsoap, white distilled vinegar, and a spray bottle!

IMG_0950

You just use one part soap to one part vinegar, which is insanely easy to remember. Heat up the vinegar in the microwave (about a minute or so depending on your microwave), then mix the two together in the spray bottle and shake gently.

IMG_0955

IMG_0956

I took Jillee’s advice and sprayed almost the whole bottle in the shower. It looked like I murdered a Smurf in there. We have horrendously bad hard water, and no matter how much money I spent, and how hard I scrubbed, we always had soap scum. It doesn’t help we have a plastic shower that’s textured, so the soap scum sticks to it like crazy.

After spraying everything down, I went about cleaning up the rest of the bathroom like I normally do. About half an hour later, I hopped in the shower with a sponge, and wiped everything down. I also took Jillee’s advice and used this time to take a shower, so no pics of my nude butt in the shower scrubbing!

It was surprisingly easy to wipe everything down, and before I knew it, the shower went from this:

IMG_0961

To this:

IMG_0962

I was so excited to see how easy it was to have a shiny, clean bathtub! I even sprayed the shower curtain, and it cleaned most of that off too. This is the cleanest our shower has been since we moved in, and it couldn’t have been easier. I’m also hoping that by getting it really clean, I won’t have to do this quite so often. Once a week was getting to be a bit much, especially since nothing I did seemed to work that well.

I’m not usually one to rant and rave about cleaning stuff, but this seriously changed the game for me. No more harsh, bleachy fumes (though I will warn you, the vinegar is pretty potent) and spending $7/bottle on stuff that doesn’t really work that well.

Score one for the internet!

I hope everyone is having a nice Friday, and that you have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Taking the Day Off

Leave a Reply

