PMB Recipe: Pan-Roasted Cauliflower & Pasta with Tomato-Cream Sauce

IMG_0933

Yesterday, I decided to try a new recipe that I had seen on The Kitchn’s website last week for Pan-Roasted Cauliflower & Pasta with Tomato-Cream Sauce. It looked easy enough to pull off, and can be easily adapted to be vegetarian friendly by simply omitting the prosciutto (which, if it weren’t for the “vegetarian” part of my challenge, I’d gladly include). You could also easily make this vegan friendly by leaving out the meat and the cream, since the sauce actually tasted pretty good without it as well.

IMG_0890

IMG_0895

IMG_0896

This was my first time roasting cauliflower on the stove like this. I was so nervous I’d burn it, but apparently cauliflower can withstand heat well. It made it a bit more tasty and sweeter than boiling it. I would have totally just eaten it like this as a side dish. I’ll have to remember that.

IMG_0902

Oh yeah, and totally go for the fire roasted tomatoes – they were very good, and not as smoky as the recipe warns. I imagine that roasting your own would be ideal, but who has time for that in the middle of the week? Not me!

IMG_0907

IMG_0910

IMG_0917

IMG_0922

The sauce couldn’t have been easier to make. Cook up some onions, throw in some garlic, toss in the tomatoes, and simmer for a little bit. When you’re ready to eat, turn off the heat and stir in the heavy cream. Done…and no one will ever know that it took all of 10 minutes. 🙂

IMG_0914

I went with the whole wheat pasta again, and I’m finding that I like it better than regular pasta. It has a better texture and more flavor, at least to me anyways.

IMG_0923

IMG_0927

Another successful recipe! It was really good, and the hubs even liked it, though he added a chopped up leftover pork chop to it. I didn’t eat a whole lot of it for dinner, and it kept me full for the rest of the evening, which is pretty rare for me. 🙂

I guess, as it turns out, I like cauliflower more than I though – just had to find a way to cook it that I liked. I always liked it raw, but hated it cooked because it had zero flavor…but something about roasting it really worked for me.

So if you want to give this a shot, check out The Kitchn for this recipe and many, many more!

Update:

It makes really good leftovers for lunch the next day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

