PMB Recipe: Creamy Broccoli Soup

IMG_0879

For this recipe, I decided to go with a soup that I’ve made a few times before. It’s super easy, pairs up with a lot of other dishes, and makes for some great leftovers the next day.

I’m a huge fan of broccoli, so I went with Martha Stewart’s Pureed Broccoli Soup recipe that I saw in one of her magazines years ago. The recipe online is pretty close to the recipe I use, with a few modifications. The original recipe called for vegetable stock, and nothing more (this recipe says to add water to cover the broccoli…it doesn’t need it).

This soup is also a big hit with D., so he was glad to see it when he got home Monday night. 🙂

IMG_0831

The other reason why I make this soup? This is pretty much all you need. If you choose to leave out the cheese, it makes for a fairly hearty, creamy soup that’s vegan friendly, which is never a bad thing. No actual cream needed!

IMG_0840

As always, I try to make sure I have all the chopping and measuring done before I start. Especially when it comes to soups, it’s always good to have things ready to go to prevent things from burning or overcooking.

IMG_0844

IMG_0847

IMG_0852

IMG_0854

Once the soup is cooked, I get my little “blending station” ready to go. It’s always smart to do this is small batches, so make sure you have something to put the blended soup in as you go (I went with a large measuring cup). You could also use an immersion blender, but I don’t have one of those. Just a blender that’s older than I am (thanks, Mom!).

IMG_0856

Once you’ve blended it all, put it back in the pot to warm it back up. See? Super easy, right? From start to finish, it takes about 30 minutes (once you get the hang of making it).

IMG_0861

Since I was making this for my lunch/dinner, I decided to beef up the soup a bit with some bread. Since I’m not a perfect human being who makes everything from scratch with all organic, free-trade materials…I got the bread out of a can. At least I baked it, right? 😉

IMG_0827

IMG_0869

IMG_0874

I also decided at the last minute to add in some whole wheat rotini, to make sure I wasn’t hungry during my evening class. Something about eating my dinner in the early afternoon usually leaves me starving by the time I get home at 9pm, so I try to make sure I eat something hearty to keep me from eating crappy stuff when I get home late.

IMG_0888

Oh, and so you don’t think I ate all alone (okay, I totally did)…I spent my Monday night dinner break catching up with one of my favorite YouTube ladies, Lorraine Stanick, and her update after recently giving birth to her first baby. I’ve been watching her videos on and off for years, and it’s cool to see her embracing motherhood in all it’s glory…and lack thereof. 🙂

So there you have it – another meatless dinner finished! I can’t wait to share what I’ll be making for dinner tonight…it’s a new recipe for me, and it sounds really good!

What are you having for dinner tonight?

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “PMB Recipe: Creamy Broccoli Soup

  1. Hi Heather! This is kind of out of the blue, but I saw your post on Cup of Jo today about (maybe?) moving to Seattle and wanted to pop by and extend a hello. I grew up in Oregon, but moved to Seattle in 2001. I lived here for five years with my bf, then we were were in SoCal for a couple of years while I got my MA, and now we’re back (and hitched!). He’s a true-blue Washingtonian, born and raised, and if you have questions about the city, its neighbourhoods (each one really does have its own personality/atmosphere!), or life in our beloved town in general, please feel free to shoot me questions at my blog – or we can exchange email addresses if you like! We’re having a real true spring here this year, so the photos on my blog might not be representative of a normal March/April!!

    • Thanks! I’ll definitely have to hook up with you while we look into possibly moving out that way. My brother in law lives out there, but has only been there for a couple years, so I could definitely use some advice from someone who has lived there a bit longer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

