April Showers Brings Frustration

IMG_0790

 

I’m so excited that spring is finally starting to make an appearance. While I spent most of this weekend cooped up at home, and it wasn’t that warm outside, it was still nice to feel the sun and fresh air.

After many months stored away, I even decided to get out my spring/summer clothes.

Everything still fits.

I should feel okay with because it means it’s the first year in many that I’m not going to have to buy all new capris/shorts to fit my gradually fattening ass…but it also means that, after a whole year of eating healthier and exercising regularly, I’m still where I was a year ago. I worked really hard to be healthier, more active, and less stressed out – and have absolutely nothing to show for it. Frustrated doesn’t even begin to express how I’m feeling today.

I know that I should be happy that I’m no longer downing 200 calorie coffees each morning, eating less meat, and not eating dessert every day. I should be happy that I discovered my breakouts/bloating/mood swings were due to drinking milk – which I haven’t had at all over the past year, and I don’t miss it. I should be happy that I can ride my bike twice as far as when I started. I should be happy that I haven’t gained weight. I know that weight shouldn’t be the focus of being a healthier person. Hell, my blood pressure is even back down to a healthier rate from a year ago.

But none of that pales in comparison to the fact that I still fit into the same size 12 capri pants I did a year ago.

Cue the pity party. 😛

So, in keeping with my whole “trying to do better” thing, I’m going to start to re-assess what I’m doing wrong, or not doing well enough. It means changes for how I eat, how I exercise, and how I deal with stress. It means changing my mindset from focusing on making my friends, family, and husband happy, and focusing more on myself.

It also means I might share more of this stuff on the blog, too – which hopefully will keep me honest and maybe a bit less stressed out. I don’t really have friends, so I guess that means I’ll be leaning on my internet homies a bit more than I do now. Hopefully you’re all up for the task…or at least reading more entries of me venting from time to time. 😉

So to those of you who are still reading, thanks for sticking it out while I whine like a little girl about having a big butt. Hopefully in another year I’ll be on here telling everyone how much better I look and feel…and that you’ll still be here reading that, too.

3 thoughts on “April Showers Brings Frustration

  1. Superb blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any tips? Bless you!

    • I like using WordPress, and I would definitely recommend a free platform while you’re just getting started. If you get a lot of readers, or want to do more intricate design on your blog later, then maybe it would be worth paying for a service. Until then, just get to writing!

Leave a Reply

