PMB Recipe: Falafel

For my Wednesday night dinner recipe, I chose to go with the Homemade Falafel & Cucumber Dressing recipe I spotted on the blog A Beautiful Mess last week. It just looked way too good not to try!

IMG_0797

I stuck with a half recipe, since I was only planning on making it for myself for dinner and maybe for lunch the next day. I also left out the cilantro, since I’m one of those “cilantro haters.” I just subbed in more parsley instead, and it was fine.

IMG_0798

IMG_0805

The recipe calls for letting the mixture sit in the fridge for a couple hours, so I actually made this while I was on my afternoon break, and let it sit for a few hours while I taught my evening class. I also made the cucumber dressing and let it hang out in the fridge for a few hours, and it was really good! I subbed the Greek yogurt for sour cream, mostly because I like sour cream more, but I’m sure either one is great.

IMG_0807

IMG_0809

After I got home from my evening class, I got my stuff ready to go. Since I don’t have a good pan (or enough oil) for deep frying, I modified this a bit by making the falafels into patties instead of balls, and then pan-fried them. It took about 2-3 minutes per side.

IMG_0811

IMG_0812

IMG_0814

The finished product was so good! I ended up making two of these for myself, and only made it through about 1/2 of the second one – they’re very filling!

Oh, and even though this recipe had no meat in it, includes carbs, and required trying something totally new…my husband ate the rest of it! Turns out he’s not totally averse to vegetarian food…he just needs a bit of coaxing, a lot of great smelling flavor, and a bit of reverse psychology. After telling him that I am going to spend my Monday and Wednesday nights making dinners for myself that I don’t think he’ll like, it sparked his curiosity or something. He also doesn’t like cucumbers, but really liked the cucumber dressing because it reminded him of tzadziki sauce (which it pretty much is…just a chunkier version of it).

While I’m a little bummed that I don’t have leftovers for lunch today, I am glad that D. liked them too. Now I can make falafel whenever I want!

Thank you to A Beautiful Mess for the amazing recipe!

Leave a Reply

