Beauty Review: Maybelline Color Show Nail Lacquer

I had a little free time on Friday afternoon, so I headed over to Target to browse around for some new nail polish. My goal was to find a neon pink, hopefully on the cheap, that I could try out.

I normally buy OPI or Essie brand polishes, but with something as trendy as neon pink, I wanted to get a cheaper one first in case I didn’t like it. I have seen a few of my students wearing it and I really like it, but unfortunately most of them get their nails done, so they weren’t sure what brand/color they had on.

Luckily for me, our Target has a pretty good selection of cosmetics at somewhat decent prices. I wound up coming home with two of the new Maybelline Color Show Nail Lacquers in the colors Pink Shock and Sapphire Siren. At $3 each, the fit in the price range I had in mind. They come in 37 colors, so if you’re in the market to try out some of spring’s new trends in neon or other bright colors, I’d check this stuff out.

IMG_0535

I decided to try out the pink one first, and I have to say I’m about 50/50 on whether I like it or not.

On the plus side, it was exactly the color I wanted. It’s definitely a bright pink, but not so much so that it looks like I stole my nail polish from 1989…or a 5 year old girl. Two coats seemed to do the job, though for a truly opaque finish, I probably should have gone with three. I’ve heard that this polish chips very easily, but I haven’t had any trouble with it yet. This could also have to do with my wearing a base coat and top coat, which I find extends the life of my nail polish by a few more days (even with cheaper ones). Oh, and this polish dries VERY quickly…which for me and my lack of time was a big plus!

On the negative side, it turned out to be a matte finish. This normally wouldn’t bother me, except that I wasn’t expecting it, since most polishes that have special (aka not glossy) finishes say so on the bottle. In fact, after doing some comparison shopping at other sites, they describe these polishes as having a super-shiny finish. This one most certainly did not.

After doing a little bit of digging around online, I found that this was the #1 complaint with the Color Show line. Some polishes were matte finish, while others were glossy, and there is no way to know for sure what you’re getting until you try it on. It even sounded like it wasn’t consistent among buyers of the same color, so I guess if you’re willing to take that risk with your $3, it’s fine. I was just a little bummed that it didn’t look like how I assumed it would look.

IMG_0543

To help with this, I faked the glossy finish by using my OPI Top Coat. This doesn’t always turn out well over top of matte finish polishes, so be warned that while it worked for this color, it may not for all of them.

I haven’t had time to try out the navy polish, but I’m guessing I might be in for the same experience. I have been looking for a while to find a flat navy polish with no shimmer in it, and this is the first one I’ve seen that looks right, so even if the finish isn’t right, I’m hoping a glossy top coat will do the job.

So I guess the verdict would be that it’s worth trying out for the price, the color selection is pretty good and definitely on trend…but be forewarned that not all of them have that super-glossy finish that many people are after, and there’s no way to tell what they’ll look like until you try them on.

**UPDATE**

I tried out the blue polish over the past week, and wouldn’t you know…it’s super glossy. This color, probably because it’s so dark, took 3 coats, but has stayed on pretty well for the past 6 days with hardly any chipping. So it’s still worth the price, but man…the suspense over what finish they will have is a bit more than I bargained for!

Oh, and because you can’t leave Target with only what you went in for (you KNOW what I’m talking about), I came home with a new candle to try out when my current one dies out, which will be soon.

IMG_0529

I picked up this Blue Agave and Bamboo candle at Target for $7 (the link is for the larger $12 version). Unfortunately, you can’t buy them online, and I can’t even find them anywhere else online. They’re made by a company called Illume, based in Minnesota, but their website didn’t carry them anymore either. I’m assuming this is a seasonal thing then.

I will wholeheartedly admit this scent is strong, and probably not for everyone. But I like it, and since it comes in a tin with a lid, it won’t stink up my home office all the time, which my husband (who hates strong scents) will appreciate. It seems to have a nice, clean scent for spring, and I can’t wait to try it out! It’s a bit more than I usually choose to spend on candles, but I was in the mood for something new, so I went for a smaller version to try out. Also, that tin might come in handy when the candle’s burnt out as a place for me to put my used matches…so I guess I’m thinking ahead on how to best use that $7 I just spent on a candle!

Hope everyone is having a great week so far, and isn’t stuck under too much snow. It’s almost April, but it sure doesn’t feel like it yet!

Don’t forget to add me on Bloglovin if you’re on there (the link for my site is on the right), and if not, that’s cool too!

2 thoughts on “Beauty Review: Maybelline Color Show Nail Lacquer

Leave a Reply

