Clean Freak

I’m going to let you in on a little secret:

I love anything that has to do with cleaning or organization.

Not a surprise?

Oh well. I thought I’d try.

I decided to try out a cleaning method for baking pans I saw on the internet. It seemed easy enough, and if it worked, would save me from having to buy all new baking pans. Turns out that if you can make a paste of hydrogen peroxide and baking soda, slap it on your pans, and have the patience to leave them alone for a few hours, it’ll make your pans almost as good as new. Since I have an abundance of both ingredients in the house, and I don’t have the money for new pans, I thought I’d give it a shot.

IMG_0453

I originally saw this on MODG’s Pinterest page, but you can find the link to it here.

To make sure I gave this method a good chance, I decided to try it out on two different, very dirty metal objects in the kitchen: a baking pan, and a stove drip pot. And yes, I had to look up what a stove drip pot was called – I honestly didn’t know. I just call them “those metal thingys on the stove.” I’m an English teacher…that’s right. My vocabulary skills are tiiiiight.

The baking pan hasn’t been properly cleaned (more than soap and water) in 2 years, and the drip pots I clean about once a month (with soap, water, and a crap ton of elbow grease).

BEFORE:

IMG_0457

IMG_0460

IMG_0463

IMG_0464

After about an hour, I went downstairs to see how things were going, and I noticed that both pans had turned the paste brown in spots, I’m assuming because of the grease maybe?

IMG_0466

IMG_0467

I gave the stove drip pot about 2 hours, then gave it a good scrub with a sponge. It came out like this:

AFTER:

IMG_0471

IMG_0469

Not bad. Not as good as the internet said it would be, but again…I could only wait 2 hours. I was going crazy with anticipation. It did take a bit of elbow grease, but it was a lot easier than my usual method of just soap and scrubbing my hands raw. I think if I go back and do all of the drip pots, I’ll leave them sit overnight and see how it goes.

As for the baking pan…

AFTER:

IMG_0473

I was less impressed with how this one turned out. I let this one sit for 3.5 hours, and while the mixture got rid of a lot of the baked on grease, it didn’t quite do as impressive of a job for me. This one I would definitely have to let soak overnight to see much of a difference, and it was very hard to clean the sides of the pan. This is also a nonstick pan, so I don’t know if that has something to do with it not getting as clean. It did well enough, though, that I could definitely bake cookies on it again, and that’s good enough for me!

Overall Assessment:

I’d have to say this method works pretty well. It’s not quite as miraculous of a result as I saw on the internet, but again, that could be due to not leaving them overnight. Anything that keeps me from scrubbing my hands raw is a plus in my book, and while you still have to scrub to get most of the gunk off, it wasn’t nearly as difficult as using other methods.

So if you have dirty pans, and you don’t want to buy all new ones, definitely give this a try!

2 thoughts on “Clean Freak

    • Glad to help! I’m so happy that I can put off buying new baking pans for a bit longer, and can maybe maintain them a little better if I do this on a regular basis!

Leave a Reply

