Spring Cleaning Progress: Day 3

Remember how I said that I am on “spring break” this week?

IMG_0412

This right here is one reason why I keep putting quotation marks around “spring break.” Not very spring-like, is it?

Well, luckily for my husband, his company decided to shut down and give everyone the day to work from home. Kind of like a snow day for grown-ups. He was already planning to stay home anyway, but he feels better now knowing that everyone else is too.

I did start my morning with one of my favorite breakfasts – Baked Oatmeal. I’m a huge fan of oatmeal in the morning, and this recipe makes it super easy for me to make enough for a whole week, and just warm up a piece each morning. In fact, I like it so much that I couldn’t wait to take a picture, so this is all you get.

IMG_0416

Even though D. working from home means the downstairs is pretty much off-limits for me today, cleaning-wise, I have gotten a few things done already on my list. I cleaned the windows and dusted the blinds upstairs, am in the process of washing all the sheets, pillowcases, and duvet cover, and I’m about to tackle a rather tedious task that involves these:

IMG_0410

I own quite a few cookbooks, and some of them I only use 1-2 recipes from them. The books above are ones I’ve had for a while, but I rarely use them – in fact, I’m pretty sure I bought all of these on super-clearance when a Borders closed near my house. I can’t turn down 80% off cookbooks. I really can’t.

I’m planning to spend my afternoon (and maybe a little of the evening) going through them to find the recipes I do use, and putting them into my digital recipe book. Then, I can donate the books and not have so many of them taking up space in my kitchen. I still have a lot of cookbooks left, but they’re ones I use quite frequently, so they get to stay for now.

Well, I’m off to get more done, and will probably update later if I have anything else to report!

Oh, and as for the abs challenge – I ended up skipping it yesterday. I was having some wicked cramps all afternoon, which I argue is just as good as a long ab workout (No? Whatever.). Don’t worry, though, I plan to get back on it this afternoon and make up for it over the next few days.

2 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning Progress: Day 3

    • I sometimes wish there were better thrift stores near me because I love reading through old cookbooks. The best I can get here for low-priced books is waiting for one of the many, many bookstores in the area to go out of business (which quite a few of them have over the years). šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

