Picking My Battle: March

Well, February has been quite a month for this little blog!

I started out the month with the Macklemore Challenge by the blog Young House Love, thinking it would be fun to see what I could come home with for $20 at a thrift store.

What I wasn’t banking on: 1200 views in one day. Totally worth the $20!

For a blog that started out with, like, 2 people to see it every day, that was a pretty kick ass way to start the month. Sure, it didn’t last…but it was cool to see that many people checked out my little corner of the internet. Hopefully I can participate in more things like this in the future, to have some fun and get my blog out there.

So to the 20 or so of you who kept coming back, keep it coming…tell your friends…and let’s see where this goes in another month!

I think I’m going to try something each month that I’ll call “Picking My Battle,” where I’ll pick a challenge that relates to one of my New Year’s Resolutions to conquer. It will be a great way for me to keep up with my goals I set way back in January, and keep the regular posts coming.

For March, I’m going to tackle something I’ve wanted to do for a while. I used to do this on a regular basis when I was in college, and totally had the abs to prove it. Now…not so much.

Picking My Battle: March Edition

Doing 1,000 ab exercises (combo of crunches, sit ups, etc.) each week.

Why did I pick this one?

1. Well, it’s something I can do regardless of the weather. It has been so hard to get outside for bike rides and hikes, and even getting to the gym in snowstorms has been tough. I think working on my abs is easy enough, and I can do it at home without too much fuss. It’s about 200 each day, 5 days each week. Simple enough, right?

2. I got asked about half a dozen times over the past month if I’m pregnant (I’m totally NOT, by the way). While I understand that my students mean well, and at 29 years old, I’m older than most of them were when they had kids…it still stings a bit.

3. Spring is coming…and not being able to fit into any of my skirts/pants without being uncomfortable is kind of freaking me out. I can’t hide behind baggy sweaters, scarves, and blazers all year. Time to get my shit in gear so I don’t spend the rest of the year hiding from half my wardrobe because it’s too tight.

4. It’s easier for me to deal with one body part at a time. I don’t know what it is, but I have to start with one thing, and build on it as I go. This doesn’t mean I’m going to stop doing the things I already do. In fact, I’m hoping that as spring approaches, I’ll be able to get outside more.

I think for now, I’ll update how things are going once every week…let’s say on Mondays (in case I need to use the weekend to hit my quota for the week).

 

I’m coming for those abs, Britney Spears circa 2003.

Not the pants, though – you can keep those. They look gross.

3 thoughts on “Picking My Battle: March

  1. Hmmm, I have to say I would recommend yoga or Pilates as opposed to doing crunches or “ab exercises”
    One pilates exercise “The Teaser” engages your core (not just your abs but the ring of muscles around your stomach back and groin) %60 more than crunches! And you only have to do it 3 times (seriously its not easy!) so its way more efficient and you can get on with your other goals!
    You should youtube some pilates! It’s a great workout – Ive been doing it for 10 years 😀

    ♥ Paula Shoe Fiend.
    http://shoe-fiend.blogspot.co.uk/

    • It’s part of what I’m planning to do for the month – looking up a wide variety of ab/back exercises from many different disciplines, and choosing ones that work best for me. I haven’t had much experience with pilates, but I’ll definitely look into it!

      Are there any good pilates videos on YouTube you’d recommend for someone who has little to no experience with it?

Leave a Reply

