Valentine’s Day: What Really Happened

I know, it’s almost a week late…better late than never, right?

Valentine’s day at my house is a pretty low-key affair. We don’t go out, and we don’t get each other gifts. For most of the time we’ve been together, I have had to work on Valentine’s Day, either by taking classes in the evening in graduate school, or teaching evening classes now as an instructor. This put the bulk of the responsibility on D. to come up with something nice, which he always does. He’s great at surprising me, even if I already have a pretty good idea of what’s to come (nice dinner, nice dessert, the rest none of your business…haha).

This year, in a fun turn of events, I didn’t have to work on Valentine’s Day, so it was up to me to do something fun. I didn’t stray too far from the original format of a nice dinner, but I went all out and made a bunch of things I know D. really likes. Also, being on a tight budget, I made sure to keep the decorations to a minimum, and kept most of my spending to just food.

So without further ado, the few pictures I managed to take on Valentine’s Day.

This is where I started, before making a complete mess of the place.IMG_0232

The main course for dinner was lasagna. It’s one of my husband’s favorite dinners, and since he’s been trying to cut back on carbs lately, he hadn’t eaten it in a while. I was smart and made it that morning, so I could clean things up a bit and just throw it in the oven about an hour before D. got home. It gave me plenty of time to set things up, make the rest of dinner, and even relax a bit. So if you’re looking for a great Valentine’s Day meal…go with something you can make ahead. It was so much easier!

IMG_0244

IMG_0245

IMG_0247

IMG_0257

Yep, I’m the dork that made heart-shaped carrot slices for the salad. My husband thought they were so funny that he took a pic and shared it online with everyone on Facebook. He never does that, so it was a nice compliment that he was bragging about me online. There were also homemade croutons, homemade bacon bits, and feta chunks, but I was so busy and hungry that I forgot to get a picture of the finished salads. Oops.

IMG_0267

To keep things at least a little bit healthy, I decided to whip up another one of D.’s favorite things, roasted asparagus. I wasn’t actually planning to make this, but they were on sale and are super easy to make. Just drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and roast in a 400 degree oven for 15-20 minutes.

IMG_0266

The table setup was something I kept pretty simple. Everything on the table I already had, except for the wine (Malbec…goes amazingly well with lasagna) and flowers ($4 from the grocery store, put in an old canning jar I had lying around).

Yes, I bought my own flowers. I was going to get something more pink/red, but 2 minutes in the floral department of Kroger and I was stressed out, so I grabbed a simple white bouquet and got the F outta there.

The wine goblets in the middle of the table were for the fried shrimp and calamari we had as an appetizer, but I forgot to take pics of that. I’m sure you can picture it. Heath bars are also one of the hub’s favorite, and he made a joke about wanting one, like, a week ago…so that’s why that’s there.

IMG_0271

D. decided that since I was going to be going all out for dinner, he would handle dessert. Strawberry shortcake with melted chocolate drizzled over top was a great idea, and one that he does from time to time. This only takes a little bit more effort than buying a heart-shaped box of chocolates, and it’s so much better! As you can tell, he gave me way too much dessert…but I managed to choke it down. 🙂

IMG_0273

I finished off my week with some leftover lasagna, which I always think is better after a night in the fridge. It was a nice, indulgent lunch on an otherwise boring day.

So there you have it…Valentine’s Day 2013 in a nutshell. It was a lot of fun to do something nice for D., and it made for a great, romantic evening.

I hope everyone else had a good Valentine’s Day too!

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day: What Really Happened

Leave a Reply

