February so far

Hello Everyone!

D. is working from home today, and I have a lot of grading to do, so I may not be on here much today. I will do my best to moderate comments and stuff throughout the day as much as I can, so please be patient if yours doesn’t show up right away…it will eventually!

Anyway…

So I decided to start off February the way many other people did – with posting the  Young House Love’s Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge. I don’t know if it’s because you guys love swans, or because I lucked out and was only the 19th person to post my link on their site…but TONS of people were on here February 1st!

8436622596_05b8711db6_b

By the end of the day, I had 1,195 views on the blog…which, as you can see in the stats above, is WAY more than the 20-25 I usually get in one day. Needless to say, I was a bit surprised!

Thank you to everyone who stopped by, commented, and keep coming back for more. You guys really made my day. I know I’m not getting all of those people back to my blog, but if I managed to wrangle in a few more readers, then the more the merrier!

The rest of my weekend was pretty uneventful. There was lots of this going on:

IMG_0149

This is maybe 1/4 of the reading/grading I had to do this weekend. Normally I try to get it done before the weekend, but Thursday was a wasted day with the tire thing, and Friday I spent sitting in front of my computer shell-shocked at how many people were stopping by, trying to respond to comments, and doing some work on ways I can update the blog a bit. And yes, for those who ask, I DO read all of my students’ papers…all the way through. I remember hearing rumors of teachers who used to only read the first and last pages of student papers, but I’m hardcore and actually do my job. Or I’m just a glutton for punishment. Either way, it made for a long Sunday.

Now, to be honest, I didn’t spend the entire weekend grading papers. There was a bit of this as well:

IMG_0153

D. got this for me at the bookstore on Thursday so I could have something to read while I waited on my tires to be installed. Luckily, by the time we got back, they were almost done, so I didn’t need the book after all. I started reading it over the weekend, and so far, I’m loving it. I’m a bit of a fan of Mr. Bourdain’s shows, and read Kitchen Confidential a while ago, so I figured this would be a nice, easy read…and so far, it delivers.

Yesterday, I decided that in honor of the recent thrift shop challenge, I would wear something that I bought! That, and with it being super cold outside again, I needed a little something bright for my Monday.

100_0854

100_0859

Sweater: Kohl’s (last year)
Jeans: Macy’s (old)
Shirt: Thrift ($3)
Earrings: Thrift ($1)

Go easy on me with the self-portraits. I kind of still suck at doing them, but I’m working on it! This is an easy go-to outfit for me when I’m at work. Skinny jeans, sweater, heels – nothing too dressy, but not casual enough to be mistaken for a student (I teach college classes, so it happens more than you might think). It was fun to get to wear something from the challenge. I might work the skirts in more when it gets warmer out and stops snowing, but for now, the button-down shirts are a nice, bright addition to my rather bland winter wardrobe.

So there you have it – another random smattering of stuff from my life. Hope you enjoy, and stay tuned for tomorrow’s blog about what to get the guys for Valentine’s Day!

2 thoughts on “February so far

    • Thanks! I wasn’t expecting more than a few people here and there to read it, but I keep forgetting that YHL has, like, a zillion readers every day…so getting almost 1200 of them kind of IS just a few people!

Leave a Reply

