YHL’s Unofficial Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge

Update:
Hello to the 1000+ people who have viewed my blog so far today! I only started this thing a few months ago, and I’m usually happy to get more than a few views every day…so this has been, to say the least, a pretty bitchin’ day! I had no idea so many people would visit my little corner of the internet, given there are a TON of other people who also participated in the challenge, so thank you to everyone who has visited and commented so far – you guys have totally made my day. πŸ™‚

**************************************************************

So this is what I have been working on all week…and why I was so eager to get my husband out of the house!

Last Friday, on the amazing blog Young House Love, John and Sherry Petersik decided to challenge readers to a (Completely Unofficial) Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge. Since I am a big fan of thrift store shopping, and totally on a super-tight budget, I decided that this would be a fun excuse to do what I normally do…but this time, with a little more structure.

Now, if you don’t know what a Macklemore is, or what challenge I’m referring to, either click on their link above, or go watch the video I posted on last Friday. It’s a lovely rap song about thrift stores. You heard that right…a rap song…about thrift stores.

So…here’s how it went down!

Step #1. Go to a thrift shop with – just as the chorus of the song says – β€œ$20 in your pocket” and take a picture.

Just getting this challenge started was, well, a bit of a challenge! For one thing, my husband ended up staying home sick Monday and Tuesday, so I had to sneak out Tuesday afternoon to get this done. My other problem is that my iPhone is new to me, and I suck at taking self pics. So here’s the best I could come up with.

IMG_0124

IMG_0126

Step #2. Spend that $20 any way you’d like and photograph your spoils.

Most of the time, this thrift store has very little to pick from, or their pricing is a little high. I really only went there because it was the closest one to my house. However, this time there was a LOT that I wanted to go home with! It was actually hard to limit myself to only $20, but I managed to pull it off…barely.

100_0808

Grand Total: $20

Here are some more detailed pics of what I came home with:

100_0814

100_0823

100_0827

100_0829

100_0832

The reason I came home with the brass bird is because, a few months ago, I found a smaller one at a different thrift store for $0.79, and thought it could use a taller buddy. Here they are as a pair now. Aren’t they adorable together?

100_0833

The planter obviously still needs a plant, but I’m planning to find something small to put in there and leave on my desk at home. I have been itching to get a plant for my home office, and this looked like just the right size and color for what I need. I’ll show you later what ends up in there!

100_0840

Step #3. Find one item (or more) referenced in the song and snap a pic.

I felt like such a big dork trying to figure this one out. Turns out Macklemore knows thrift stores – there were keyboards, big a$$ coats, and moccasins aplenty there.

So I went with the “all pink outfit.” It’s not a great picture…but it’ll do. I sort of look like a librarian…not a naughty librarian…just a regular one.

IMG_0129

I almost came home with the blazer, but it’s a little bit too long for my short stature. I’m not good at altering anything, so it stayed there for a taller future thrifter to make it her own.

So there you have it…my first blog challenge. Overall, it was a lot of fun to try to come up with stuff to buy on a budget, and find a mix of things I can both wear and use in future projects around the house (I have a bookcase overhaul in mind for the near future).

Hope you guys enjoyed my little shopping adventure, and go check out Young House LoveΒ to see what John and Sherry came home with, along with what a ton of other people found on their thrift store trips over the past week!

Follow on Bloglovin

33 thoughts on “YHL’s Unofficial Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge

  1. So cool that you were able to find a buddy for your swan! I’m with littlehousebigheart on the liberal use of spray paint. Even just painted white they would look amazing! Plus since they are brass the paint would scrape off easily enough if you don’t like the look (that could be both good and bad I’m realizing)

  2. I love the swans just how they are! How perfect that you found a buddy for the one you already had.

    Stopping by from YHL. It’s great seeing what everybody found!

    • Thanks for stopping by! This blog is a new project for me, and I thought the challenge would be a great way to connect with other bloggers/readers. I’m heading back over there this afternoon to see what everyone else ended up with, so I can’t wait to see what thrift stores around the country (or world!) have to offer!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I have been on the hunt for a nice, simple black skirt for a LONG time. I don’t look all that great in pencil skirts, and that seems to be 90% of what I find in stores now. I’m glad I found it, and in a thrift store of all places!

  3. Love your swans they are my favourite thing in the challenge so far! Are they heavy? you are so lucky to have seen two of them! pllleeeease oh god please don’t paint them like someone else said! That would be such a travesty! The brass is gorgeous.

    • Wow, thanks for stopping by, and I’m glad you like them! They’re a little heavy, yes, but not too much. Heavy enough that I know I won’t accidentally knock them off a shelf (which I tend to do a lot). Don’t worry – they’re staying as they are for now!

  4. The swans ARE a set! I have the same set I inherited from my parents who got them as a wedding gift many years ago. That’s so funny that you found them at two different stores!

  5. Here from YHL too…The pic of the swan is what drew me in. I have the taller swan. It was my grandmas…she had a “thing” for brass :)…and when she passed I brought that home.

    • Thanks for visiting! It’s cool to hear that other people have those too, and that they seem to be something people treasure and take care of. This is starting to make me think I shouldn’t paint them…not that I was sold on that idea. I guess I’ll have to polish them up and find a good place for them!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’m trying to branch out a bit this spring when it comes to brighter colors and prints. My winter wardrobe is a lot of white and darker neutrals, so I’m excited to start mixing it up a bit when the weather warms up.

Leave a Reply

