Workouts in Winter

To give you an idea of what it’s like to exercise outside in Ohio during this time of the year, and show why I’ve been sick for the past week, here are a few pictures I took last week:

Tuesday, January 8
After a decent snowstorm, I decided to take my chances and go hiking. While the high was 45F that afternoon, it was still pretty cold. The park that I hike in was also pretty intense, with the snow melting and basically turning the trails into skating rinks. A 30-minute hike for me on a nice day took almost an hour.

Untitled

Untitled

Pretty, right?

Well, after getting through my first week of classes, I worked out again later in the week.

Friday, January 11
The high temperature on this day was 61F! In the matter of a day, all of the snow had melted, the sun came out, and I decided to throw caution to the wind and take the bike out for a ride.

Untitled

Untitled

It was…pretty awesome. Even though it was barely after New Year’s Day, it felt like spring. The picture above was taken in the same spot I was on Tuesday in the boots.

So when it comes to working out in Ohio…you have to be game for anything. Today, it’s 37F and looks pretty nice outside, even if it’s a bit chilly. I’m not sure if I’ll get out today, since I’m still feeling a bit crappy and don’t want to wind up more sick than I am already.

It’s either get outside for a walk, or stay at home to do laundry and taxes.

Suddenly, taking my sick ass out for a walk doesn’t seem so bad….

4 thoughts on “Workouts in Winter

    • I’m not good about working out in the rain, either, so I totally get the feeling! I can live with cold, snow, and everything else…but rain will stop me faster than anything!

Leave a Reply

