Back to School: Professor Style

Now that school is heading back for another semester, I thought I’d cook up a little”fantasy outfit” for the first day of school. Yes, a lot of teachers still get all excited about their “first day of school” outfits. It’s a nice change of pace, especially after spending the past few weeks in jeans, sweatshirts, workout gear, and snow boots. Not that I don’t love my jeans. They are the main staple of my wardrobe.

When I’m at work, it’s all about looking professional, while keeping accessories simple and shoes comfortable. As a younger college instructor, I feel that I have to look more professional than many of my coworkers – mostly because a good portion of my students are older than me. I can’t get away with the Hawaiian shirts, thrift store cargo pants, hippie skirts, tweed blazers, and other fashion mishaps easily identified as “college professor fashion.” I sometimes can pull off denim on a particularly lazy day, or one where I have to dig my car out of the snow to get to work – but that’s only because I justify it to myself that way.

Back to SchoolCreated at Polyvore

My teaching schedule is insanely easy this semester, which is going to be great for the blog, but not so good for the bank account. So expect to see a few more “fantasy outfits” than “shopping hauls” over the next few months.

Leave a Reply

