Late Afternoon

Since today is Thanksgiving, and I’m spending the day eating myself stupid without my laptop around, I thought I’d save this post for today.

Happy Thanksgiving!

*************************************************************

Went on a late afternoon hike on Tuesday after running about a zillion errands.

Here is some of the cool sights I get to see at my regular hiking park.

The hiking trail is basically one giant loop with a river that runs through the middle. When I first started going there, the river was the only thing that kept me from getting lost. I still got lost sometimes anyway. I’m not a directionally-smart person.

While the place looks pretty bland now that winter is approaching, there were a few places where you could find some cool colors. The green moss along the river is electric green, but I’ve been told that since this river gets chemical runoff from a neighboring town, I’m sure that has something to do with it.

There are a few small waterfalls in the park. The one above isn’t even the coolest one. Check out the water from the natural mineral spring in the pic below:

Yep…it’s bright orange. Or yellow, depending on who you ask.

I’m sure by mentioning that, most of you probably already know where I was. Shit. I guess let the creepy stalking commence.

This is by far one of the coolest spots in the park. It looks completely different during different times of the day. And of course, because I’m cool like that, I went to the top of the spring for my mid-hike break. I don’t get to do this very often because there’s usually some stoner or hippie on top of it meditating or whatever.

For reals, the water’s that color. No photoshopping there (Okay, maybe a little photoshopping there…I can’t take THAT great of pictures. The color is legit, though.).

Now, in case you think this hike is all flat, easy, fun times…this is what almost half of my hike consists of:

Stairs. Lots and lots of f***ing stairs. To get into the park, it’s about a 250-stair descent, which is a nice warm up. The worst part?

I have to climb back UP these damn things to get out of the park…which is, to be scientifically accurate, about 15x more of a pain in the ass when you’re tired. The picture above isn’t even half of them – I was going to take a picture about halfway up, but by that point I’m usually trying to not pass out.

Overall, this is one of my favorite ways to spend a fun afternoon. Especially when it’s 60 degrees outside on the week of Thanksgiving. 🙂

Leave a Reply

