100 Happy Days Challenge: Days 1-10

Since I am participating in the 100 Happy Days Challenge on Instagram, I thought I’d share with you how the first 10 days went!

Overall, this was a great time of the year to start this challenge. The weather is getting nicer, and I have a little more time each day to spend tinkering with Instagram. I’m getting the hang of it, and I’m getting a lot better at editing/posting photos more often, which will help me once I get the time to blog about all of it!

I’d say in terms of how “happy” the past 10 days were, I’d say they were 50/50. The first week was a very long one, with lots of stuff to do work-wise, and not a lot of time to do much else – but I made sure to work in some time to relax, which I haven’t done enough lately. So far, this has been a great awakening for me to just how unhappy I am throughout most of my day. It is forcing me to come to terms with just how negative I can be, especially on days when I’m worn out from not sleeping enough, or not getting time to relax throughout my day. Even something as simple as sneaking home for lunch in the afternoon seems to help me on particularly stressful days, and it’s something I hope to keep doing for the next 90 days!

Days 1-4

Day 1: Got off to a great start by taking a long run…jog…okay mostly a brisk walk. It was so nice outside that day, I couldn’t say no!

Day 2: Spent most of that day doing laundry. I had a few new (and very bright) pieces that I had to hand wash because otherwise, all of my clothes would now be pink! So glad I caught that one early!

Day 3: Spent a lovely Sunday morning catching up on blogs, which I haven’t had much time for lately.

Day 4: This was the first Monday in a long time where I can honestly say I had a good day. The spring flowers on my skirt may have helped with that a little.

Days 5-8

Day 5: Decided to have a little fun on Instagram for April Fool’s Day. I don’t have a cat at all…and I was glad to see a couple people fell for it!

Day 6: This was a particularly long, tough day at work, so the happiest I was all day was right at the end, when I could crawl into bed and sleep the day away. It was well needed.

Day 7: I woke up early, which meant I had time to make myself a proper cup of coffee and read a few blogs before work. This was another great day, and made even better because it got off to such a nice start!

Day 8: Fridays are my “work from home” days, so I got to treat myself to a nice turkey sandwich, some Kona truffles from Trader Joe’s, and a bottle of root beer. It was a nice way to take an afternoon break from grading papers and cleaning the house.

Days 9-10

Day 9: Woke up Saturday morning to find out that my nephews’ soccer games had been canceled, so instead we hung out with them all afternoon, and we went over to their house in the evening so I could make a giant batch of chili and cornbread for dinner. Everyone loved it, and we didn’t go home with leftovers – a sign of a truly good dinner!

Day 10: I spent most of Sunday catching up on grading (and didn’t even get close to done). Since so much of my work can be done on the computer, I also spend Sunday afternoon giving myself a nice manicure for the week!

Hope you enjoyed catching up with me on my first 10 days! I’m technically on day 16 right now, so I’ll be back soon to catch you up with days 11-20.

Or…if you want, you can always follow me on Instagram so you can stay caught up with what I’m up to lately! I don’t think I’ll be picking back up with blogging much until school is out in May (other than these updates), so follow my Instagram feed to stay in touch!

Instagram

5 thoughts on “100 Happy Days Challenge: Days 1-10

  1. It’s so hard capturing the moments that make me happy. I forget to take photos a lot of the time… So I fell behind :-( Then again, I’m happy every time I post something new on my blog or every time my posts get interaction. Haha.

    • It hasn’t been easy for me on certain days, either! I have a couple really long work days, so by the time I get home I’m so tired and have to scramble to get them posted!

      Don’t worry about falling behind – I’m sure I will too from time to time…especially now that final exams are fast approaching!

Leave a Reply

